Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"back to school and more...."

2001-07-11~10:05 p.m.

Gosh I had an early start today. I actually set the alarm and got up early. I got showered and dressed and marched on down to the school and sat in my nephew's classroom and observed him all day until 11:30! Of course I'm sure he was on better behavior because I was there but the things I could see was that he does not pay attention all the time. He bothers polishing his glasses whenthe teacher begins instead of having them on and ready BEFORE she starts teaching. Therefore he is already behind because his glasses were *needing* to be cleaned. He keeps them in a case by the way!

Also he got alittle upset if he wasn't called on, but she did let him do a couple things and he seemed to be getting the jist of some new things. He jsut needs to focus a LOT more on the teacher and not day dream. I had to help him on some math work and he finally got it. We showed him how to check his work and he hated to check it but was able to find mistakes and correct them *before* he turned them in! I just hope and pray he does it tomorrow for his test.

And that d*mned para professional sits on her butt all day. She is in there to assist the teacher and kids, yet she spent all morning reading the newspaper, leaving the room, checking her e-mail on computer *during* the lesson and basically NoTHING! I helped my nephew plus another child that needed it when that lady is being paid to do it. The only thing she did do is at the end of the day she graded the kids papers. Big whoop de doo. No wonder the boys got in a fight yesterday when she took him. She doesn't monitor them. Today she made my nephew wait outside until the others were through. That was ok with me, at least he won't get in trouble. But he wasn't the only one acting up. Oh well. Just to keep the boy out of trouble. I really want to say something about the para but I don't know if it would do any good. She could really be helping these kids. SHe could sit by the slow ones and keep them on track but she is not.

The principal talked to me and said she really hopes Alto will stay in our system and go to our school next year. She feels he really needs a good year of stability at a good school with people to support him and expect things from him. I want that too but his mother is moving to Alabama and I doubt she will. She said she would talk to his mother to see if she would agree. But this afternoon I talked to him and he said he *just wants to be with his momma.* Oh well. I guess he will go to another school and continue to get NO support whatsoever and probably not learn like he could. I wish I could change things but I am not his mother and I have no control. All I can do is pray for him.

Tomorrow is our last night of Women's Bible study. We are going to have a dinner before hand at the leader's house. She is the youth pastor's wife. She just found out she was pregnant on father's day. There is another baby boom in our church. I don't know how I'm going to handle it.

Tomorrow Pam also wants me to drive with her to her counselor's appt and go shoping. Her husband AKA the Jerk, is coming over to keep the kids and she said that she doesn't want to come back to the house alone. She said she doesn't want to be in the vulnerable position where she comes homand he is there and he tries to talk her out of things. She feels if she is not alone with him she will be better. And I am her friend and I will do what I can to help her. I'm sure he won't want to see me! I know he doesn't care too much for me or Melba because we have known all along what a jerk he has been to her. But so what. I don't care what he feels about me. I am here to support Pam and her two kids. They feel comfortable with me and I will be here for them whenever they need me. Andhe can just go with his old conceited self back to his girlfriend or whatever he thinks will make himself happy instead of his family.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Now we may not buy the house on Duck Point after all. A guy from church is going to start contracting houses and he brought by a plan to TIm today at work. It is EVERYTHING we want in a house. It has 4 bedrooms, a seperate shower and garden tub, a huge walk in closet, a foyer, a seperate dining room, a fireplace, a seating area for stools in the kitchen like we have now. A large laundry room, a garage. oh my. It is too good to be true. And it will be where we can choose what we want. We can pick colors, pick everything. I do want a garden tub with jets! Oh my. Can it really be true and for real? It will be on a smaller land piece, I think a half acre and in a neighborhood a little north of here. I really didn't want to be any further north because of work, but it will only be a couple minutes. I wish they did have land closer to town though. He will get back with Tim tomorrow on prices. This house is 200 sq ft bigger than the other. He said since it will be the first home the do, they want to give us a good price on it. And we go to church with him and I will tell him flat up, if you don't think you can do a great job on it, don't even do it for us, because we don't want to ruin a friendship.

So, God, if this is what you want for us, make it affordable and doable! Thank you Lord!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland