Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"weekend synopsis"

2001-06-24~11:56 p.m.

Well, I think I missed a day in my diary. What did I even do yesterday? Oh yeah. Had another Mary Kay party to go to. This one was over 3 hours long. They did a Glamour makeover fashion show afterwards is why. Whatever.. LOL From my party that I had, I ended up with $40 in credits. I bought eyeliner, mascara, and the new Time Wise 3-in-1 Cleanser and the Time Wise Age Defying moisturizer and my total, with tax, was a little over $19.00. So that wasn't too bad. I don't think I'd pay regular price, when I can go to Wal-mart and get something jsut as good for less. So I'll use this until it runs out...

Also yesterday our A/C was messed up. It was not cooling. I looked at the unit outside and the hose was frozen again. It happens about every year. If I let the vent get too dusty and not change it and it is real hot, it freezes up. So I vacuumed the filter (Reminder to self: Buy new filter TOMORROW!) and turned the air up so it would not run. I knew the only thing to do was to let it defrost. So I got ready for the MK party with no air. I had the fans on and boy was a I hot. I also had my neighbor's 10 month old girl over here with me. She had injured her ankle and had to go to Convenient Care so I watched her for her while she was gone. She is so sweet! She just laid her head down on my shoulder. Sweet baby...!

Anyway, by the time I got home it had been at least 5 hours without running. It was defrosteed and I had run to Miller's Hardware (I love that place) to get a new foam pipe for the tube and some duct tape. I recovered the pipe with duct tape and then turned the air on. Whooo wee! It worked. See I'm a handy gal! I know how to fix things my self! That is what I get for watching fiz-it shows! :-)

So that night Tim and I went to Sonny's to eat. I don't like to eat there because I always leave with an upset stomach. I did ok this time. I love their bread. Then we looked around Book-A Million. Tim's Explorer wouldn't start so we walked over there to let it rest. He thinks it is a fuse. He went back and jiggled some fuses and it started fine. Gotta get it looked at Tuesday on his day off.

I still can't find the Journal's Unlimited Arts & Craft Journal that I want for Tim's mom. The company is out of stock of it and I checked Books-A-Million and they don't have it. I'm going to check Waldenbooks, because sometimes they can do a book search for it and find it. Even if I could find out what the back page looks like, I could duplicate it on computer and go have it printed on nice thick paper and put in a binder for her. They have a sample of the font page on the web site so I copied that. I figure if they are out of it, then why can't I copy it myself? If anyone can find one, let me know!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Today we did church. We combined SS classes with our old class. We were out-numbering them today. Our class is by far one of the largest classes attending regularly. THe other class has more on their role, but they are not real regular. God is so good! Growth is great!

We ate lunch at O'neal's with my parents. I think they like meeting us after church for lunch now. My Dad was wearing olive cargo pants! I about freaked! I never would have thought he would wear those type! I was impressed! LOL

We took a long nap today. I got a call from my former student, China. Her mom said they are moving back to Tennessee. She is so sweet and has always kept me up to date on her daughter. We promised to write each other. She just told me how much I had meant to her and her daughters and she wished I had more recognition for what I did. But I don't care about getting rewards or plaques or my name in the paper. The best reward is that right there, hearing a parent tell me what a difference I made in their child's life or hearing a child thank me for being a wonderful teacher and influence on them. That is what the true joy of teaching is all about. I can forget all the psycho students I have had, and I have had many. I can forget the times I almost had scissors thrown at me, the time my finger was almost broken, the time I had to restrain so many students, the times I've had to chase students, the CRAZY parents that no other teacher wanted, so I ended up with their kid.... I can forget all that, when I hear the thanks I get from parents like her. It makes me proud to call myself a Teacher! :-)

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland