Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Like an egg..."

August 25, 2002~10:56 p.m.

What a weekend! busy but fun one. Saturday actually satrted off with me being lazy and recouping from my cold/allergies/whatever. I stayed in bed most of the morning and slept,a lthough I was so congested, I could barely breathe! I finally arose and relaxed with Scooter in the living room and we watched some TLC. Gotta love Trading Spaces and While You Were Out. I played around a little on the computer and talked to my dad af ew times about going out that night. I finally got showered adn felt so much better afterwards and slowly got dresed and ready to go out. Tim was runing late and I was a little POed and cranky. If I knew he was goign to be late, I would have gone ahead nd come into town to get the cake and such and now wait on him to come home. Anyway, I tried not to be upset because he couldn't help it if the boss needed him to help him.

We picked out a cute cake from Baskin Robbins and got 6 candles. We just had them put Happy birthday on it since it was for me and my mom. We drove out to meet them at the restaurant and they were already there. We had a great dinner, as always. That is the only place I eat steak at. We all had the filets and baked potato and salad. Dad also ordered onion rings. Afterwards we had the cake and all the waitresses sang to us. The cake was delicious. It was pralines and cream and white cake. I think that was the best!

We went to my parents afterwards and got there first. Tim hid the suitcases in my nephews' room before mom got home. She loved the mixer dad got her and then in the card I gave her I had a certificate for one ice cream scoop. That was what she had asked for. Then Tim brought out the suit case. She was looking at it and was surprised. Then she went to open it up as Dad was saying he needed one like that too. Then she saw the one inside. She was a little surprised I think. I hope so. So now they have two nice big pieces of roll luggage they can use for vacation. They are trying to plan a trip to Mississippi next month. And it will mainly be needed when we all hopefully go on the cruise next Spring.

Sunday we were a little rushed getting ready, as always. I want to read the paper, but it puts me late showering. The preacher's sermon was wonderful. HE has been preaching about suffering the past few weeks. I know he is not only talking to me, but to everyone, but it seems like it is just for me! I keep getting emotional during service. Today, I really got emotional at the end and was crying. It was mostly when he was praying at the end and asking for those to come up, so I tried to keep it hidden. Thank goodness I had a napkin in my purse. I needed it. I kept tearing up as he was addressing the congregation and I know he saw me. He was looking right at me. I haven't really talked to him since that time I met with him a while back. But it seems like a lot of his sermons are speaking to me now.

After church, there was a college luncheon and Tim and I have volunteered to help with being care givers for them. So they invited us to eat and meet them. While we were there, the preacher walked by me and rubbed my shoulders, then put his arm around me and I put mine around him. He quietly asked me if I was ok and I told him I was doing ok. I think I might need to go in and talk to him again. It seems like when I talk to him, I may cry whil e I'm there, but I'm empowered when I leave and feel better emotionally.

Today in his sermon he described three things being put in boiling water. Carrots, an egg, and coffee ground. He described people as those objects. We can go in the boiling water like a carrot-hard and come out soft and mushy, or go in like the egg-hard on the outside but soft and fragile on the inside and come out hardened on the inside after boiling, or we can come out of the water like the coffee grounds by changing the water and smiling when we taste it because it is good. I feel like I am the egg. I am very fragile inside and hide a lot of my emotions and hurts. But suffering has tended to harden my insides and make me lose my tenderness and fragile self so that I'm bitter and hard towards others. I have to strive to be like the coffee grinds in the face of suffering. I have to turn my situation around and make it good so that it comes out tasting good in the end. I want to smile at the taste of the coffee once I've been in the boiling water. I want to change my surroundings and circumstances and make it good.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland