Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"in a pridicament"

August 16, 2002~10:50 p.m.

I am really enjoying my classroom this year. It is so much better than the previous year when I had a certain student. It is so quiet and orderly. The children are much better. I also like having more girls in the class. Even though one of them is a little active and I have to get on her a bunch, she isn't really that bad or anything so I'm thankful I have a good class. I also like being able to go to electives with them. I like being able to also go for the fact that I know they are going. I think last year a lot times my para would just go to the library and sit and talk instead of take them to elective. So now since I am going, we all go at one time. One girl that I have is so sweet. I just had to give her a hug before she left today. I am really enjoying her. She is kind of slow talking (I nicknamed her Granny) but she is sweet as can be. They are all pretty accepting of the other kids in the class and seem to like the new girl in the wheelchair as well. It helps that she is VERY verbal and can carry on a conversation.

I had a phone call yesterday from one of my students. I have had him since last year. He is a resident of a local developmental behavior center. His mom lives a couple hours away. She is goign through a custody battle with her ex because she wants to move to Loisiana near her family and also take her son with her to a school there. It is for children only and she feels he will do well there. Of course the es is acting like he doesn't want them to go so he is suing for full custody. I have talked to this man ONE time since I have had his son in my class and that was because I called him to ask if he was picking him up for Thanksgiving and if he wasn't, I was wanted to get him. He said he was on call and it would be a long time on the road to come get him. He eventually had his parents come pick him up for one overnight visit. That was the last time he saw him that I know of. When I checked him out this summer for VBS his father's name was not on teh check out list on his page at all for 2002. So he has not seen him all year. That is sad. But yet he doesn't want his wife to move him. He would probably see him more if they moved. Anyway. She asked me if I could testify in court for her next week. For one thing it is on my birthday and I'd have to miss a day of work. I'm sure I could get it excused or she could send a subpeona so they would have to let me off work. BUt I have a funny feeling about it. I dont' really KNOW her personally in her regular life. I have only seen her when they visit and bring the other two kids. Yes she is a good mother, although I think she is a little lenient with them, but I'm sure it is hard to discipline them in front of others. She does talk to them a lot instead of any physical punishment. But I just don't know. I know she is a Christian lady and always asks if there is something she can pray about for me. She shared infertility woes with me before and asks me how I'm doing, as she did the Clomid thing too. But it is like I will cross that line between being a teacher and a friend. I mean she has even spent the night at my house one night when she came for the Stephen Curtis Chapman concert and went to church with us and such. But I wonder if I would regret getting up there and talking. I wonder what HIS attorney would ask me and if I could answer the questions and not look stupid. I told her that if she needed me, I would come, but if she had enough witnesses not. I hate that, but I feel like I would be crossing a line or something. I don't think she will have a problem with getting custody, I have told her that God will provide if her move is meant to be. I guess we will see. This is what happens when I get too close to my students and parents. I get too tied up emotionally. Oh goodness..

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland