Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"a thud in the road"

August 03, 2002~10:18 p.m.

I had such a great time today! It was hard getting up, but I was only about 20 minutes later getting ready than I wanted to be. But Pam was going to the bank before coming here so she was late anyway. We left here about 9:30 to head for Macon. We had a good time talking about everything, life, school, family, etc.

Before we hit the mall, we went to some shopping centers that Dana told me about. Thanks Dana! I didn't find much at the clothings stores there but I did get a little something at Old Navy. Love that store. I got some more socks. I'm in love with their cushioned short socks. I love to use them when I go to the Y.

We then headed to the mall and tried to find a dang parking place! That place was so packed. Even employees said they couldn't find a place. The parking guy was writing tickets for illegally parked cars. We finally found one near Dillard's and grabbed it. I was about out of gas so I was glad to find something.

I really didn't find a ton of clothes, but I got lucky in Dillards and found the PERFECT shoes for my pink outfit. My outfit is pink with palm trees on the top. I have been looking for shoes to go with it. I was looking for a sandal or something. I foudn these natural colored slides with a palm tree embroidered on them! Perfect! They were on sale, plus 25% off of that so I got them for about $18. In Dillards, that is a good deal. I hope they look ok with it. I think I can wear them with kakhi shorts as well.

I think the only other clothes I bought were a pair of jeans I found for $14 and a blue and white tank top to wear to the gym. I was looking for jeans but refused to pay 30 and up for them. My current jeans are too baggy and look so huge on me so I got a size smaller. I didn't want to spend too much because I hope to be buying smaller ones soon. These will do fine.

I hit the Yankee Candle store, I know why Dana likes that place. ANd it smelled sooooo good! I loved it. The scent of the month is buttercream and blueberry. I bought a jar candle of buttercream (smells like icing!) and a smaller pillar of blueberry with the cutest little plate to put it on. They will both look great in my kitchen.

THe last store I went in was Eddie Bauer. I knew there was nothing in there to fit me, nor Pam, as she is petite. But we found that Survival book on sale for 6.99 and I got it. I will give it to either my Dad or FIL for Christmas. I think my FIL would love it more. I also got Tim a nice red and white plaid shirt on sale fo more than 50% off and 3 pair of nice dress socks with cushioned soles. I wanted to get him something special.

We both did not over spend, but got stuff we needed and bargains to boot. I bought a lot yesterday so I didn't need much else. I really need more church dresses but couldn't find anything. I guess I can live with what I have now. I have a lot of nice ones that are a size too small now. I'll be able to fit in them soon I hope.

OH lunch, we did ABC (Atlanta Bread Company). I love that place. I had half of a chicken curry salad sandwich and a half ceasar salad. Pam got a whole sandwich. It was pretty good but dry. I had to add light mayo to mine and mustard.

We drove through a pretty heavy storm on I-75. We finally got to my house about 8:30 or so. After Pam went home I watched the rest of Trading Spaces. THen I took Scooter to go get dinner. I went to Taco Bell.

On my way something gross happened. I was driving down the back road that I always take to get to town. And it was so dark and still foggy from the rain and there were cars coming my way and behind me. And all of a sudden, in front of me is an animal! There was nothing I could do as cars were in front of me and behind me. I think ti was an armadillo. I screamed as the car went over him. He was right in the middle of my lane. My throat hurt so bad from screaming. I heard a thud. I was so freaked out, and Scooter was too. I went through the car wash when I got in town and did that under carriage wash. After I picked up dinner, I drove the same way home. I never saw it on the road so either A) It rolled off the road, B)An animal came and took it very fast or C) It was still alive and moved somewhere. I hope it was C. But I will be more cautious as to what is on the road at dark near there from now on. Tim's mom and I saw a dead armadillo when she was down here during the cookbook contest. She had never seen one before. I saw them all the time growing up. Dead that is. I've seen dead oppossoms and live ones too. Gross things. I hate those fangs. Oh Tim's parents had a litter of them hidden in their attic one time. The fire department had to come get them out. They looked scary.

Anyway, I've eaten dinner and I think I'll watch a little TV and go to bed. Tim's team won 2nd place in the state tournament. He called me after every game to tell me how they did. They stomped every team but the last one. They got their tails kicked by them instead. I'm still proud of them and I think 2nd place is great. They were 3rd last year, so I told him next year they will be #1!

I'm so ready for him to be home. The house is so quiet. He is having a good time with the guys though. And he needs that. I kind of like the alone time, but I miss him an awful lot! Glad AF gone. When he gets back I'll have to give him some loving!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland