Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Atlanta trip and pictures"

July 08, 2002~10:17 p.m.

This entry has a lot of pictures so it will take a while to load...

It includes our pictures of our trip to Atlanta. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Downtown Atlanta. It was very beautiful and we enjoyed it. Valet parking and everything! LOL They had a nice fitness center which we used one night and worked our butts off and an outdoor pool that we were the only crazy ones to use each night. One night (Wed) we ate at the Polaris atop the building. It is a revolving restaurant. It is neat, but you can tell it is old and just a place that you can say you have been to. The downstairs restaurants were newer and nicer.

This first picture is of Tim and I after the Braves game. They won against the Chicago White Sox. It was a pretty hot day and I'm glad I bought the hat, as my head would have been fried otherwise, and you would have seen how sweaty I looked!

This next picture is the front of the Carter center. We went there Monday morning. There really isn't much to say about it. If you are a history buff it is a neat place to go to. It was neat to see his speeches that he wrote, he is a great writer. The food there was crappy but the place was nice. The japanese garden and rose garden was pretty.

We went to the Olympic park after we toured the CNN center Monday. It was not that exciting since there was not a concert or anything. I was more afraid than anything. Afraid of getting my purse stolen. After walking downtown that day, I resorted to carrying the bookbag with everything in it after that. It was safer. We took a tour of the CNN center before this but I didn't include those pictures since they didn't let you take them during the tour. I did incude some later on the last day.

Yikes! We are in jail! Actually we are at the Crossroads exhibit in Stone Mountain. This is a new attraction full of buildings and people dressed up like the old pioneer days. I loved it, as I am a big Little House fan and it reminded me of that time. Tim and I could not imagine St Mt without Crossroads.

This is the famous Stone Mountain! The ROCK! It is fascinating the history around how this got carved eventually. It took 3 different people before it was finally finished!

We are trapped in a Coca Cola tray! No that is just Tim and I lovingly looking at each other. I had to beg Tim to do it, then the guy taking the picture made us look at each other that way. He took a good picture of us though. We had just finished watching a soda jerk show us how they made Coke in the drug stores way back when. It was first served in a pharmacy not far from here in a small town about an hour away. Cool!

The trip to Coca Cola was on Thursday. Our last day. I don't have pictures from Wednesday because we spent the day shoping at the Mall of Georgia! We met up at lunch with a friend from the area and her daughter. It was neat to see how much she had grown since I saw her last year! I bought some stuff but wasn't really into looking for clothes. It ended up that Tim bought about 9 different shirts the whole trip! Of course some are for me to share. He bought more clothes than I did! But I do love my ankle socks I bought from Old Navy! I want some more.

Back to Coca Cola World....

After the soda jerk and the movies of how Coke began and all the artifacts, we were able to sample different Cokes. There were Cokes from different states and from all over the world. Some of the world ones were NASTY! Whew! I spit a lot out. I was also burping after tasting all that I did. I hadn't had Coke in so long!

This next pictures shows me in the gift store. I am sitting on the Coke bear. I had a mini stuffed on of it a while back, but Scooter thinks it is his now. As he does with anything that is stuffed! We bought a ton of souveniers this vacation. From each place we went practically. I bought different pencils to take back to school to put on my desk. Tim bought a Coke pitcher and glass set.

After Coke, we headed over to CNN. We signed up for being on Talk Back Live. This is the reason we stayed late that day. It started at 3. We ate lunch and talked some and then got in line to get on the show. It was filmed in the middle of the CNN center while people are walking around. There is a huge food court there for the visitors and employees. Oh and on Monday when we did our tour, we also did a CNN interactive video. Tim and I both had on jackets like we were CNN reporters and we did a newscast. We have the copy of the tape. It is so fun to watch!

After the TBL show, we stayed to have our pictures taken with the guest hosts that week. This first pictures is of Carol Lin. We both think she did a great job of hosting. She loved my digital camera and I had to give her a quick lesson in how it worked with the disks.

We also got a picture taken with Chris Askew (I think that is how you spell his name). He liked out names (Tim & Kim). He also liked the camera and said he wanted to get one of them. He was real friendly and nice. They both were actually.

After the show, we got back on the road to head home. We stopped in Locust Grove at the Tanger Outlet to shop a little. I found a few things. I want to go back when I have more time to shop though!

And so that was our trip. I meant to get this up earlier but I didn't get the time. Hope you enjoy the pictures!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland