Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"surprise open house and furniture decisions"

September 16, 2001~10:34 p.m.

Today started with a surprise! I was reading the Real Estate ads and saw OUR house slated for an Open house today! Yikes! The yard needs mowing and our mower is broken. The house is being fairly kept clean daily but could use some touch ups. Tim wanted to stay home from church but I said we needed to go. We at least needed to go to Sunday School. So we ended up staying for church service too. We sat in the over flow room since the church was packed.

As soon as we left, we went by my Dad's borrowed his mower and truck to haul it in, I picked up fast food and we went home. We ate lunch on the Meadowcraft table in the back yard. The weather has been sooooo nice the past couple days. We open our windows at night and the breeze is so nice! After we eat, Tim goes to work on mowing, wed eating, and blowing the yard clean. I tackle inside. Empty the dishwasher, reload it, clean the counter and bake a batch of cookies to set out. Sweep the floor and wash some areas of the baseboards. Took the Lysol cleaner and a rag over the house to spray any areas that were dirty or smudged. And straightened up what else needed straitening. It only took us about an hour and we were through before 2. Of course no one came. But our realtor said he had no idea it was even going to be in the paper. There are two other house on our street for sale by them and I suppose one of the other realtor s decided to have all of them available on one day. The more I thought about it, the more perturbed I got. Because I thought, our house is listed for $2000 less than the other two and they had time to prepare. Their lawn was freshly manicured this morning. They knew. SO it was almost setting us up for having our house looking less well kept so people would go for the other higher priced ones. Oh well. No one viewed theirs as well. I don't think anyone is in a mood to look at houses right now. Our realtor did say we could set up the first weekend in October as an Open House that we will be prepared for and advertise. So anyway, we got our house clean! LOL

Oh, we looked at a new bedroom suit that they had come in the store this week. Tim took me by to show me today. It is pretty and I like it. So we decided that we would void the other suit and buy this on since we would save about 700-800 dollars and it would still look nice. I was afraid the other suit would look to huge for our room. The dresser was a monstrous piece and even though I loved the felt drawers and such, this would be better for us.

I also think I decided on a sofa that has recliners on each end and Tim showed me a snuggle chair. I like it. SO he is going to get on of the ladies across the street to help him figure out which fabrics would go together on them so we can order it.

And I have already chosen the kitchen table that I want. We are going to put our oak table in the dining room for now with the leaf in it until we can buy a dining table later. But we needed a small kitchen table for the nook. So we picked out this round table with a cute baker's rake. I am going to try to attach a picture. It is sold by Ashley Furniture. Here is the link I think...

http://www.ashleyfurniture.com/SeriesDetail.asp?Group=3&NA=0&style=all+styles&Chstyle =NC&SeriesName=Melbourne&SeriesNo=D229 &PG=2

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland