Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"my tribute to Grandparents!"

September 09, 2001~2:13 p.m.

*note* I have a previous entry before this one.

*~*~*~*~*

Today is Grandparent's day. I sent a card to my Grandma, we sent a card to Tim's grandparents and one to his step grandparents. I always try to remember them. I know they don't expect it, but it is a pleasant surprise to get it from us, their step grandchildren. But Tim is as much the son of Leon as if he was his real father.

Tim will call his grandparents later. I need to call my Grandma today also.

Those people with grandparents still alive, be thankful for that. There are some that never knew, or can't remember their grandparents. I never had the growing up, close relationship with grandparents like Tim did. He is really blessed. My maternal grandmother died when I was 1 and a half. I have a feeling though, that if she had lived, I would have had a very close and loving relationship with my Manu. Just from what I have been told, she loved me and Bobby so much and we really meant a lot to her.

My maternal grandfather is still living somewhere in Florida. He doesn't claim us. He was never married to my grandmother and his wife refuses to let him have any contact with us. So be it. I haven't missed out on anything. I have seen him once, at a funeral. He snuck around the corner while no one was watching and snapped a picture of my mom and I. I wonder if he has that picture hidden in his desk drawer somewhere. Hidden from his wife, where he takes it out late at night and stares at part of his offspring and wonders what could have been. What our relationship could have been like, had he gotten involved in it. Would he have been a great grandpa? I'll never know...

My paternal Grandmother is still living and lives in Tennessee. She had a hard life and continues to have one. I remember her as the elderly grandma who kissed me on the cheek, or glasses, or wherever her lips planted themselves. The one who prayed for our well being from the time we left the door to come visit her, to the time we got home on return. The one who constantly complained and still does, of her aches and pains. The one who went on a regular basis to get her hair "did" and had it died black in a poof on her head, where it still looks the same today after all these years. The lady who never learned to drive a car and never will. Who only left the state of Tennessee once, almost on force by us, and was miserable the whole time she was here, because she wanted to get home. Who rode in the van with her hand on the roof, scared to death of what would happen as we crossed the Tn/Ga border. The one who couldn't read worth a lick, but knew phone numbers. Could sign her name. Who had her first born at the age of 16, merely a child herself. And that firstborn child was my Daddy. Who is almost as old as she is now. Who went on to bore 7 more children, one afflicted by mental retardation, who continues to be my favorite uncle, even though those around him mistreat him and do not respect him. Who also bore a daughter and knew she could not care for her and offered her to a couple that wanted her. And that daughter never forgave her for giving her up. But unaware that if she had lived in that shack in the mountains, she would have had to warm her body by a 50 gallon drum of stolen coal to keep warm. She would have watered down 1 can of pork and beans with 6 more cans of water to serve the family and fight for who gets the piece of pork in it. She would have known a much harsher life than she did. The harsh life her 7 other siblings had to live. With the older brother making the living and providing for the family, because the daddy was too busy out drunk or spending what little money he had. Yeah, she can be upset allright, she had it easy. But the life my Daddy led made him a better man for it. One who loves his mother and would do anything for her. Who taught me those same things.

Needless to say, I never remember my other grandfather. All I know is he died when I was a baby and it was probably from being drunk. I don't even know what he looked like, except he probably had dark hair. I have seen his gravesite once, but that is about all I know of him. I didn't miss anything.

Yeah, those people out in the world that have grandparents in their lives are lucky. No, they are BLESSED. They have someone who snuggles with them to read a book, to teach how to bake cookies, to come to school to eat lunch with them. Although I never had a grandma to sit me on a stool and teach me to cook, I do have Manu's old cookbook with her handwriting in the margins marking her favorite recipes. I can cook some mean biscuits and pancakes and know that one day, long ago, my Manu made those same biscuits and pancakes and dreamed of, one day, teaching her baby granddaughter to make them too!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland