Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"going back in time!"

December 15, 2002~12:25 a.m.

We had a fun evening tonight. Tim and I went to a place about an hour from here that is fashioned to be like the 1890's. I used to go as a kid all the time that we had yearly passes. Everytime I went I imagined I was Laura Ingalls Wilder and how it was to live in those days. It just fascinates me.

I had not been to a cane grinding since I was a child and I have been telling Tim the past few years I wanted him to go and especially at cane grinding time. Well this year they combined it with the Christmas celebration and so it was later in the year. It was soooo cold and windy out there tonight. But it was fun. I want him to go back in the day time when he can see everything.

We enjoyed sampling biscuits and sausages, hot chocolate, tea cookies, cider, cane syrup, cane syrup candy (molasses), and a neat dessert bar where they had cakes and cookies and such. We took the train ride around the place and saw the lights and the pond. We had our picture taken with the Victorian era Santa. I'll post later when I have time. I bought a few gifts for my dad and nephews. I got the nephews harmonicas and humongous jawbreakers. When we were kids, my brother and I loved getting those things. They were like a dare, to get one that huge and try to eat it. Our school used to go on trips there yearly and those jaw breakers were the "thing" to buy then. So I got them some. I got dad some homemade cane syrup.

Afterwards we ate at Cracker Barrel, which was suiting since it was old fashioned. We both ended up only eating half our food, which is unusual for us, and taking the rest home for breakfast. We were just so full from sampling and tired and cold from the weather. I'm still nursing this cold so it is hard to breathe as well.

This afternoon I met up with P and we ate lunch. She had a bad afternoon talking to the ex and blew up at him. I told her she is going to have to meet him somewhere to exchange the kids, not at the house. She does not need to have him in the house. Maybe she will listen to me.

I also finally got that friend of mine to come buy this leather sofa we have had in the garage for a year. It is vanilla colored and very soft! I loved sleeping on that thing. But we have no where to put it. It was nice to also get a small check for it as well to use on incidentals. I almost hated selling it for that because it was so old, but it is still in fairly good shape. I bought it about 7 years ago. Now if only we could sell this rocking chairs!!!!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland