Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas"

November 30, 2002~12:25 p.m.

I said I would never do it again last year...Well, I did it. I woke up early and hit the sales yesterday. Last year I hit KB Toy's for a sale but it was an awful long line and only a certain amount of people were allowed in at a time. IT was irritating. Well since I found out Walmart was going to be open all day Thanksgiving and would be open that morning, thus not having to stand in the freezing cold waiting until opening time...I went. Dad got there early and found where most of the stuff was before hand. Mom and I met up and got there about 5:45. Yes, I woke up at 5:00 AM! Ugh.. But I went to bed about 10:00 so I was ok.

So we get inside and mom goes for the computers on sale. She has wanted one real bad and wants the internet so she went there. I went for the $69 13" tv's since I need a new one in the computer room. My old one was struck by lightening a while back and is thus labeled "posessed." It goes on and off without warning and you have to beat it to death to get it to work....So now I have a working TV in here.

We also wanted a $98 DVD/VCR player. I ended up buying 2. We asked Tim's parents for that for Christmas and I went ahead and bought it and they are going to pay me back. It saved them a ton of money. I got the other one for the bedroom. We might as well at that price. Later my dad was still there and we got him to get another one for us so that Tim's parent's could give it to his brother and wife for Christmas. That is what they wanted also. So we saved her about $150 on Christmas.

Dad loaded up on TV/VCR combos and VCR tapes and other stuff. He was having a good time. He went back in to get some jeans for the boys. Oh man, it was a cold morning though. Mom and I went to ACE to get a couple more things and then I went home.

I got domestic and whipped up two big omelets and bacon and toast for breakfast for Tim. He had to be at work by about 9 so I knew we would have time. I felt so domesticated doing that. Knowing I would be able to sit down with him to eat breakfast and talk. He told me he enjoyed it and that he might just have to "keep me at home" so he could enjoy this. I really would like this...but, I enjoy my paycheck, my students, and the health insurance. And I would get bored and lazy if I stayed home. But it would be nice! I'll try to do better on vacations to fix him a good breakfast.

So I did a little more shopping yesterday afternoon. Mom got her computer set up for email and she is getting used to it. She is scared of it though. I want to mention that she should take a computer course.

Last night I rented the DVD for A Walk to Remember. It was so good. The beginning was not as good but it got good in the end. And I predicted the sickness and the end part. It was cool to watch on DVD. Now I told Tim that for Christmas, I would like some DVD's of our own. If people ask, I had thought we would like Grease (Tim said I have to have this movie on every format, VCR and DVD (LOL)), Forrest Gump, Cast Away, stuff like that.

So today I am bumming out. I slept late for the first time this vacation. But we are planning to go to the theme park to listen to Kenny ROgers tonight. So I guess I need to get dressed. Next week is my nephew's birthday and we might celebrate his tonight also....

Speaking of birthdays, Scooter's is on the 4th. He turns 2 years old. He has been real calm and quiet since I've been home. I think he doesn't like his hair cut... LOL It is short and I think he is cold. He spends all his time cuddled up with me. Maybe he is just maturing.. Tim says it is because he realized his birthday is next week and that with the decorating we are doing, he knows Christmas is soon also. He wants Santa to know he has been good! I am looking for a doggie sweater for him to keep him warm.

I'm in the process of putting up my trees. I am halfway through with the fake one in the dining room. We moved it to another corner and put the corner buffet in the other corner. It will go well I believe. We will work on putting the live tree in the holder tonight I think. That goes in the living room. I got one of those fir trees that is easier to hang decorations on. It is better than the type we cut last year. This one was at the grocery store and came from up north. We bought it Wed night and they had just gotten them in. So it is fresh.

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland