Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"sick student"

November 07, 2002~11:08 p.m.

We had a scary incident today at school. First thing this morning while the kids were eating breakfast, one of them had a seizure. I was out of the room and my para pro was in the room talking to the teacher next door. They were in the room but not by the kids, over by the sink. I walked in and he is on the floor! I rushed to him and he was seizing and his head was lightly banging on the floor and his arms were jerking. This totally freaked me out because he had never had a seizure before. He does have a shunt so I automatically think of it malfunctioning. I have them call the place where he lives and then the nurse came to watch him. he started coming out of it but was still out of it and shaky. We tried to make him comfy and cover him up. We decided to call the ambulance since it was his first one. They were there pretty fast and I was glad I knew enough medical history on him off the top of my head. Even the nurse where he lives didn't know his age but I knew it off the top of my head. I printed out his student info to take with them. I was so scared. I called his mom but no answer, which is strange. Come to find out she was subbing today so she was not at home.

That afternoon I was able to find out he was admitted in the hospital and his dad was there. It shocked me since his dad rarely visits him. They are divorced. But at least he was with him, He asks about him all the time and wants to see his dad but he never comes.

So after school I went to see him. I didn't really want to see the dad since I had been called for the mom's witness on the custody trial before. Apparently he forgot what I looked like and didn't know I was his teacher. Becasue he was on the phone and when I walked in he never got off the phone until the doctor came in and then he talked to the doctor. After the doc started examaning him, I told the dad who I was and he had no idea that I was his son's teacher. For the past two years!! Oh well.

Anyway to make a long store short, they don't think it is his shunt but did get a ct scan and will evaluate it. They are planning to put him on medication for seziures to see how he will do. I sure hope he comes out ok. They think he might be released tomorrow. Please keep him in your prayers~~!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland