Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Who gets the boot?"

2001-02-08~19:48:46

Why do parents want to lie? Don't they know it is teaching their child to lie?

Today we were doing math. My para-pro was working withone group, while I worked with another group on their worksheets. We have one student that is giving us trouble. I had him full time at first, then they pulled him half day with the resource teachers and now he is back to half day with me. I have spole of him before. He is the one that has the homeroom teacher that keeps sending him to our room early and is being a butt about him in her room.

Well, anyway, C. is working on his sheet and he is totally not there today. He is just out of it liek he is asleep. He has been like this a lot lately. He blames it on his medicine but I believe it is becasue he is not getting to sleep at night. We asked if he took his medicine this morning and he said some lady in the office gave it to him. Well, the secretary didn't give it to him, the asst. principal didn't give it to him. So who did? So we doubt he had his meds. So even though he didn't have meds, he is still falling asleep. So he can't blame the meds today. He has not motivation at all! Before when he is like that, I have him do jumping jacks and sit ups and push ups to wake up. I told him to do push ups and he couldn't (wouldn't) even do one. He laid on the floor like he had no energy in his body. Then I told him to do jumping jacks and he just barely moved. I told him to do them where his hands are over his head, he places his hand on his head and just stands there, like he is trying to be smart! I told him to go to the office. So I go call his mom while he is sitting there and she SLEEPILY answers the phone. It is about 10:30 or later by now. And hse is dead asleep. I ask for her (knowing it is her by her voice) and she says "Whos' speaking" When I tell her who I am, she says that his mother stepped out for minute. Yeah right. I'm talking to his d*mn mother. You lying thing! I could not believe this woman had the gall to lie to me like that. When I know her voice and I know it is her! THen she says "Don't tell me C. is in trouble again." SO if it isn't his mom, then why is she asking me? I tell her what he has been doing and to have her call me when she gets in (yeah right). She says she will. Have I heard back from her today? NO! Will I? No! I just could not believe that the woman would lie to me about it not being her. Now it is understandable why her son lies about taking his medicine, why he cheats on his work, why he will guess rather than try to work a problem out and use his brain.

So I made him stay in my room until he finished. It took hima total of about 2 hours to doa worksheet that is so simple. He finally went to lunch at 12:15 Then that afternoon when he came back to me, he sat in his desk and fell asleep until 3:00. Then when we went to the cafeteria to wait for the bus, he slept the whole time until 4:00. I don't know what is wrong with this boy. And the family. I am going to ask the administrators if I should involve our social services worker in this. It bothers me too much.

**************

Tim is playing softball again tonight. They were short one player. He had promised me he would only play one night a week but I told him to go ahead. We don't have any plans so it is not a big deal. I'll be glad when he gets home though so we can have time together.

**************

I fell asleep earlier last night. It helped. I woke up before my alarm! I got ready and was early to school for duty. I was proud of myself! I even had time to check email before I left for work! I'll have to stay up at least late enough to watch ER tonight. I'm taping Survivor on one TV and Friends on the other. I hate them being on at the same time. Wonder who will be booted off this time. Wonder if I could boot people off at work???? Hmm, that's a concept! HeHe!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland