Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"6 years ago today...."

October 31, 2003~11:24 a.m.

Today is our 6th anniversary. Yes, our first date and our first day we met in person was on Halloween, October 31, 1997-6 years ago! I can still remember to this day when Tim rang my doorbell and I opened it. I can remember what he was wearing and what his hair looked like. I remember the big hug we gave each other after so long on the phone and emails longing to actually meet and touch each other. His hug was so strong!

Our date plan was to go to the Charlie Daniel's concert but the rain was so torentous, it was rained out. We opted to go to Texas Roadhouse, my favorite restaurant.

We stopped by the church so he could meet my mom. They had a carnival and so we talked to a few people there. Mom has a picture of us that first night. It is not the greatest picture but it marks our first time meeting in person. We left to go to TR after that.

We sat across from each other and talked so much. Each of us amazed at the differences in what we "thought" the other would look like, as we had not exchanged pictures yet in the couple of months we had been talking. We talked so much and got along so well. It seemed like we knew each other forever!

After dinner, we came back to my house. He was to spend the weekend with me. I know some people might look down on that, but we are Christians and we knew that we were going to sleep in separate bedrooms. Well, I couldn't let him go. I didn't want to be separated from him. So I made him sleep on the floor in the living room with me beside him. He felt if we were in the same bedroom we would be too tempted. So we slept on the hard floor together so we would not miss a moment of that weekend together.

The next morning we drove to Soperton to meet his parents at a craft show. I was so nervous to meet them. They were very friendly and were relieved to know I was normal. I met his shy sister and thought, will she ever let me in and accept me dating her big brother? Well, now, 6 years later, I am so grateful for wonderful in laws. For a great sister in law, that deep down is so emotional and has sensitive feelings just like me. That could probably cry at the drop of a hat, just like me. The little sister I never had...

Sunday came and we had to part. I missed him so much and longed for the next time I'd be able to see him. I can't count the number of times I drove down I-75 to Florida to that camp to see him or for him to go north to Georgia to see me.

I'm so grateful that God brought this wonderful man into my life. That he was raised by loving parents and was shown love growing up.

I prayed for this man months before I met him. I prayed that God would bring me a Godly man that would love me and care for me and change my life. Well, God answered that prayer. And I am so grateful for that.

Tonight, after Tim gets off work, we will visit Texas Roadhouse again, like we have for the past 6 years on this date and enjoy a dinner reminiscing about that day 6 years ago today. For the first couple years, I made him try to sleep on the living room floor with me that night to mark the occasion, we are older and no longer live in that house anymore, so I don't make him do that anymore!!!!

Thanks be to God who changed my life with the most wonderful man in the world!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland