Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"growing up"

September 08, 2006~1:56 p.m.

The birthday party was fun. It was full of pink and full of polka dots. What more could a girl ask for? Some of the hightlights-
When the first guests arrived. It was a set of 3 siblings. We opened the door and when she saw them, she walked outside to the sidewalk and stood in front of them and just seemed so excited to see them. This is the first time I've seen her do this. She just pumped her arms up and down in excitement to see her friends. She really likes them. Not to mention, one of them is a boy, and he is pretty handsome, and almost 4 years old!
The next was when our couple friends came. They have recently moved about 5 hours away. They have two sons. The youngest is 5. When they came in, she really showed that she remembered them and wanted them to come play. The youngest sat on the chair in the living room. All of a sudden, daughter climbs up on him and sits in his lap, just thrilled to be with him. We took pictures of course. I think we are starting to see a trend of liking boys???? Oh goodness.
Daughter did very well playing outside and not throwing fits at all. She had a small nap and I guess that did her well for the party.
It was so hot, but we had a tent to keep the sun off. We let our guests eat dinner inside since it was so hot. It felt so good. The polka dot cake was delicious. We are still eating on it. IT was huge! I ordered it thinking that everone on the invite list would be there like they said they would. 15 of the ones I thought would come did not show up. We still had about 20, so there were way plenty. We have goody bags left over and the kids that didn't get to come, missed out. The girl bags look like mini purses and have pretend compacts, pen lipsticks, a lipgloss laden pretend cell phone with a lipstick brush antennae, real fingernail polish, a buffer, and a candy necklace. They missed out. Now I have 5 girl bags and 1 boy sports bag left. I will have to figure out what to do with them. I guess I'll keep one at least for Daughter.
It was a great party and it seems like now that she has turned two, she has matured some. She has really picked up on new things.
Last night, I had pulled my hair back in a partial ponytail. Just the top party was pulled back to keep it back off my face. I was sitting on the floor so we could play. She noticed my hair and went to it and touched it. She held the ponytail. Then she got in front of me and touched the back of her hair. It was like she was telling me she wanted a pony like me. She pulled her bow out. So I took the ponytail holder out and pulled her hair back like mine and put it in her hair. She liked it. That was the first time she has not cried when I have put her hair in a pony or pigtails. I guess now that she knows mommmy does it, it is ok for her to do it.
Later DH was singing Jesus Loves Me as we were playing on the floor. Daughter leaned on him and filled in two of the lines for him. It was almost as plain as day. We were so proud. That was the first song I sand to her to comfort her the first day she was in our arms. We sing it often, as it still calms her to this day.
She is growing up so fast..

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland