Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"sick baby"

September 15, 2006~6:58 p.m.

We are dealing with a sick toddler. I guess I can call her a toddler now and not a baby, since she is TWO!
When I went to check on our daughter Thursday morning, she had vomited a little in her crib sometime during the night. I felt so bad that we didn't know. It was just a tiny bit on her blankie (white clothe diaper) that she holds and a tiny bit on the sheet. So DH had to clean that up and her and get her ready for school since I had to run out the door to keep from being late. I figured that she coughed during the night or something and coughed up some phlegm or something.
Then last night, I had Bunco, so DH took daughter to the park and the mall and dinner while we girls played. I had fed her a bottle and a little more of milk before they left. I know she doesn't drink much at school so I like to make sure she gets milk when she gets home. So this was probably 3 hours after the bottle and we had her in her jammies and ready for bed. She pulled me to the kitchen and I picked her up. I put her on the counter by the fridge as I got out the milk and Blaghhhhh... all over the floor goes some chunky milk. Ugh. I'm not used to this as she rarely ever gets sick like this. While we were in China, she did for the first day or so until we learned to make her bottles, but not at home here in America. So there is chunky milk all over her, the floor and me. DH got towels and cleaned it up while I put her in the tub. Poor baby started crying, I wouldn't blame her. I ended up sitting in the tub with her and sponging her off the best I could. Then we put her to bed soon afterwards without any more milk. She looked exhausted.
We were worried about her today but she didn't have any problems with milk at school I guess. Now that may mean she didn't drink any at all. She was crying when I picked her up and was very quiet in the car. All I can say is Thank you Jesus that she didn't throw up in the car! When we got home, I decided to give her some formula that we had left.
I had previously bought two gallons of milk and it was 2% instead. We both felt that maybe something was wrong with the milk and threw the rest of that gallon out. I was afraid to use the other gallon because it was from the same batch. So I thought the formula would be ok. Well, halfway through the bottle, she upchucked all over the sofa. So I cleaned her and the sofa up. Poor baby just sat there on the chair with her blankie not knowing what to do. She wanted milk so bad but I can't give it to her. I gave her pedialyte but she refuses to drink it. So right now she has fallen asleep on the floor. She does have a temp of 99.9 so I'm assuming she has a stomach virus. Hopefully it will run it's course in the next day and get out of her system. DH is at the store trying to find something that looks like milk but is not milk based since our child is so picky and her drink has to look like milk or she refuses to drink it. I just hope she gets better soon. I hate for her to be sick.
Oh, and as of this past Tuesday, our duaghter has been with us a full year now! I really almost wondered if she is trying to replay the throwing up in the hotel the first few days just to bring back memories!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland