Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"meeting recap"

August 29, 2003~10:30 a.m.

I went to the fertility support group last night. It is about 45 minutes away and I made it in good time. The first group was kind of small. Two husbands came. I know they wnated them witht hem for support, but I think if we were all women, we could open up more. But on the other hand, one of the husbands did a lot of talking.

An OB/GYN talked about infertility and went through all the steps and processes of determining a cause, treatment and what to do if treatment doesn't work.

We were able to ask questions but were kind of quiet since it was the first time we all met. We did talk about glucophage and I think I am not getting enough. My R/End will only give me 500 mg once a day. I think I will ask him to increase it to at least twice a day to start. I have been on as much as 3 a day so I can handle it.

Anyway, we did get into the discussion that hardly any insurance in Georgia will pay any part of infertility treatments. That is what has stopped a lot of couples. That is what has stopped us. You eventually run out of resources and are tired of forking out money not knowing if it will work.

One lady said she just adopted from Russia. She had tried for 9 years to conceive. She talked to me afterwards and told me she would email me the agency. Also a friend of her's adopted through a lawyer so she was going to give me her name.

All in all it was an ok meeting and I'm sure it will get even better once we get to know each other and get more open with each other.

I mentioned that we should have a counselor come to a session to discuss the emotional aspect of it.

So we will see what happens. We only meet the last Thursday of the month.

On a good note, today is pay day and I'm off on Monday!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland