Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Visit with my uncle"

November 27, 2001~11:44 a.m.

I thought I'd update you all on my Uncle's condition.

....He has had an aneurysm burst, along with some light strokes, according to what my aunt's husband said the doctor's said. I was not prepared to see him the way he was. I was only thinking of the physical aspect, the walking, talking etc... I didn't even think that it would affect his brain. It has. He has some memory loss. He doesn't seem to know his girlfriend, who has been with him since the second day he was in there. She is sleeping there and everything. I think it is a little over kill, but that is another story...

Anyway, sometimes he knows your name, other times he doesn't, but knows you are related. He called us "Kim & Tim, that married couple over there" yesterday. Then later he asked us when we were getting married. I told him we already did and he said when. I just said April, not what year. He said he was 47 although he just turned 50. Then today he never said my name much, but he told the nurse I was getting married soon to that guy over there. And the nurse asked who he was and if he was trouble (Tim) and he said, yeah a little, but not much trouble! LOL So he is joking some, but it just scares me that he has lost so much. He does know family members and asked about the "younguns" meaning his adult sons. He named them. He knew his sister on the phone and called her his "d*mn sister." So he is getting back to his regular self! LOL

He is calling his brothers his sisters and calling a washcloth thing they rigged up to keep his hand busy a phone card. It really hurt me to see that he has lost so much and has to struggle so much to do anything! He is eating solid food now although he gets tired right after he eats. I gave him a notebook and pen and that has been wonderful. He could read some. He read the temp on the TV and said that is about how he felt, 82 degrees. He has been writing all day in that notebook. Some is readable, some not. He writes his name, he writes up orders to sale, he numbers things and draws shapes. He is really content on that book. I wrote him a note today that said I loved him and hope he come back home soon. I signed it and put my internet nickname he called me (SweetAngel). The first time he saw it he didn't say much... before I left he read it and I asked who wrote it (We were calling it e-mail since he was so into e-mail before). He said "I think it is from you." I said he was right. He wrote in cursive "love you, Tommy" then he put parenthesis around it. I said, what does that say... he said "I love you too." I about cried. Cause we were about to leave and it was wonderful to know he could red what I wrote him. He tore the page out, the only time he ever tore it out. He said to put it in the drawer of his table and he would remember where it was. So I put it there and told him to not forget it! When I walked out, I was in tears. I cried the whole way down the hall and down the elevators. It hurts to see him like that. But I am so grateful that he is improving tremendously from last week. That he is reading and understanding things. He is in a wonderful hospital, Celebration hospital, that is right by Disney world. (He mentioned Mickey Mouse this morning!). His son is working on getting the VA to transport him to Montgomery Al. where he is and to help pay some of the bills. What is sad is that he has no insurance, he has nothing to his name except his van and all his belongings in boxes in a storage building my dad has. He didn't pay his insurance bill in July and August and the VA is saying he hasn't been to them in the last two years for a stay so he may not get benefits. And now that the hospital found out he has no insurance, they are pushing to have him transferred. My dad has been kind of bribing the nurses with beanie babies and stuff and it remarkably makes a difference. People enjoy coming in the room and spending time with Tommy. He probably has to be out of ICU by this weekend though. I don't know if they will have him transferred out by then... There is so much more to tell. I'm just so glad I got to see him. I never would have known what he was like. I am glad he remembered me too. It is a little thing, but I love him and it helped that he knew me. My parents will be there until Thursday......

Those that are able, please continue to pray for him. He needs it. Not only for medical help, but salvation and for where his life will lead him now......

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland