Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"variety"

August 14, 2002~10:39 a.m.

A fellow member of my TOPS groups is in teh hospital. SHe was in a car accident and her left shoulder is banged up pretty bad along with other problems. I talked to her husband via phone and I hope to go up to see her today. She is in a lot of pain and I feel so bad that this has happened to her. She is such an inspiration to us all in that she lost over 100 pounds and has kept it off. She is always supportive and sends messages to us to encourage us. She was on her way to buy food for her husband's family as his sister had died the day before. Always helping someone....Please keep Patsy in your prayers!

~*~*~*~

Tim fixed a nice dinner last night for us. He had the day off so he grilled steaks and baked potatoes and did green beans. The salad mix I had was bad so we had to throw it out. I need to go buy some more.

~*~*~*~

This school year is going pretty well so far. The kids are not bad behavior problems. We are just having to get the new ones accustomed to our rules and way of working here. Of course the two new girls have not turned in homework yet and I've threatened them with notes home if they don't come back tomorrow. They had to make the others up in class today. We are also having to give one of them time limits or she sits there and stares off. She is non medicated ADD. So it is a struggle to keep her attentive. But I think we are getting to her slowly, but surely.

~*~*~*~

A friend (Vicki) was talking in her journal about kids being overweight now a days. It is so true. I see so many children at school that are not jsut chubby, but obese. I know that I was chubby growing up. Mainly from being told I had to clear my plate as a child. And I was made fun of. Even as an adult. So I feel bad for these kids that are so heavy, heavier than I ever was. Then I see them buying ice cream at school (they sell it for 50 cents) or kids drinking soft drinks (empty calories). And they are glued to their playstations and don't play. As their parent, I would hope they would help provide healthy food, not fast food. But do it in a loving manner.

Which brings me to our TOPS group. There is a lady that is largely obese that comes. I mean that is what we are there for. She brings her daughter with her and she is a member as well. The girl can not be more than 8 or so and is heavier than some adults. I see the weight books since I take money for dues and fines. I keep this confidential of course. But the leader and I were talking last week after the mother came in with a 15 pound weight gain over 2 weeks. We dont' think they are making a life style change. Just by coming and sitting at a meeting, is not going to make you lose weight. YOu have to get out and move and drink water and eat sensibly. I have seen the daughter sitting in a meeting drinking a Sprite. Hello! There is a water cooler in the hallway, that is much better for her than soda. The younger daughter, who is about 6 is on her way to being just like them. I guess it runs in the family. I hope they make a lifestyle change soon for the sake of them all! I need to also encourage them more. I know a couple of people that are their friends outside of our meetings and they try to encourage them too. I sure hope we canhelp them. I would hate for that child to go through all her days being made fun of or ostracized for her size. I remember what it was like to have to buy plus sized girl clothes in the biggest size. Back then we didn't have many choices. So my choices were pretty pitiful.

Vicki. YOu are so right, kids now days need to get out and exercise more and eat less sweets and soda. Take those cookies away from them. If you start them out young likeing healthy, they will continue to love it.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland