Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"A rainy night"

July 03, 2002~11:35 p.m.

This evening did not turn out like we had hoped. My dad had set up tables and his stuff near Sonny's tonight. They were broadcasting from radio stations and had 6 bands alternating on two stages preforming, were giving away t-shirts and stuff and selling drinks and food and such. Daddy had tons of different sized flags and hats and glow lights. It was kind of slow but we were selling (me, daddy and a friend's 13 year old son). Around 7:00 or so I had been walking around with some glo sticks and some American flags and trying to sell them to the crowd and I felt a couple rain drops. I ran back to Daddy and he was trying to put a tarp on his tables. It would barely cover it and there was a rip in the middle as well. We tried the best we could and the rain was coming down so hard! We got an umbrella out and we found some shelter. Everyone was running for shelter and their cars. We were hoping it would clear away fast, but to no avail. It slowed down, then picked back up again. Tim was on his way after work to help us and mom was too. I called her to go get dad and A some dry clothes. We decided to pile everything in the back of the SUV to keep it dry (it was already getting wet). So I pulled it to the table and we loaded it all up. I just got rid of the umbrella because I was already wet. Goodbye $64 hair cut and color that I had today.. LOL

After a while it slacked off enough that it didn't bother us to walk around in the sprinkles so Tim and I grabbed some glo sticks and some other light up stuff and walked around the parking lot and up the shopping center selling. People were running to us and buying, buying. We were happy. We ended up having to get another tube of lights and I sold every one of the light up headband sparkly things I had. We were so thrilled. Tim and I kept walking and selling and people called us to their cars and bought and everything. We sold until we figured it was slacking off. The police were telling everyone the fireworks were cancelled and so everyone was headed home. So we all headed home.

I went to Dad's to help count the money and he made over $300 just for that little time in the rain. It was better than nothing, if we had sat in the car. Daddy feels that if the weather had not been like that we would have sold at least a thousand. I don't doubt it either. I just felt SO bad for him when all the rain started coming in. I just hurt feeling that he could have had a good night selling and it bombed. But I'm glad we were able to sell some stuff for him. We are hoping that they reschedule to Friday night and we can go back out and do it again. It might be later in the summer when they do it though since they have to reschedule bands and stuff. I would really like for Daddy to get rid of a bunch of stuff he had. I just hope he can salvage alot of it. There is so much that is wet. He will have to spread alot out and let it dry.

I came home and I was soaking wet. Tim had already taken a shower and told me to get a hot shower as well. It felt so good. Tim had ordered pizza (first one I've had a in a long time) and we ate dinner. We are about to head to bed soon. Tim is off work tomorrow and we have the whole day together. We plan to go see the concert tomorrow if it doesn't rain. Rhett Aking, Darryl Singletary and Wade Hayes are playing. I hope it goes well.

I can't really complain about this rain, as we need it so much! It showed that we got over 2 inches just in that short amount of time. Wow!

Well, I hope everyone stays safe this 4th. And please don't let children get near fireworks!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland