Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"bitter sweet"

June 01, 2002~12:14 p.m.

Last night was kind of bitter sweet. Sweet in the fact that Tim and I got to see a day old baby and also baby-sit a 2 year old, bitter in the fact that it was sad that we don't have a child yet.

Last night when Tim got off work we went to the home of his co worker's. His wife had her Baby Thursday and so we wanted to visit them. I haven't held a newborn in a long time. I've tried to stay away. I did go to Walmart and bought them some diapers, wipes, two cute outfits and some rubber duckies that I threw in the bag. I also bought the big sister (2 years old) a cute little bag that had kiddie make up and also a pack of tic tacos (she called it medicine!). She was so excited that SHE got a gift. She is being real jealous of the baby already. So that was nice for her to get something.

The baby was soooo cute! She was so tiny! The first thing L did was pick her up and put her in my arms. I didn't expect that, so it was a surprise. She was sleeping and I just marveled at how tiny she was. I held her for a while, then I asked Tim if he wanted to hold her, at first he didn't. Then we talked him into it. It was so sweet to see him holding her. Later I held her again before we left and rocked her. She stayed asleep the whole time. Sucking on her paci and trying to suck on her thumbs. They said she sucked her thumb the whole time when she was in the womb. It was special to hold her. I hope we may be able to baby-sit every once in a while. Or at least spend time with them.

~*~*~*~*~

We had to rush from there to go to T&S's house to baby-sit A. The first thing she did was run from me and cling to her mommy. S said that ever since they went to California for a week and left her with her grandparents, she has been clinging to her and even runs from her grandmother. SO I guess that didn't make me feel too bad. She screamed when they left but I was quickly able to divert her to a dinosaur lego and she stopped. We sat outside for a while and she loved hearing all the sounds. She heard a dog and said "puppy" and identified the train as "choo-choo" and even identified a bird when she heard it chirping. I would ask her where things were like the trees, the table, etc. and she would point to it all. She is so smart, they have done well with her, especially since she was so premature and behind developmentally. Her favorite thing to ask was "What's that? " and she talked about her tractor.

She colored a little and then sat in Tim's lap and read books. She pointed all the stuff out. She was very clingy to Tim and that surprised us both. She played a little and then it was bed time. Before I rocked her she pointed to her diaper and so I figured that meant she wanted changing. Smart girl. Then I rocked her while her lullabies were playing. It is the most precious thing to rock a baby to sleep. I didn't want to get up and put her in bed. I could have sat there all night and held her. I finally put her in the crib and she rolled on her side. I told Tim to go check on her so he could see her sleeping. He came back and said "Thanks!" She woke up and stood up in the crib. LOL When I walked in there she was laying back down. She fell asleep very soon. I kept checking on her. It was so precious! There were a few times I almost teared up. I wish we were parents so much. I know we would do wonderfully with them. I hope that dream can be a reality soon.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland