Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"summer plans"

June 16, 2007~2:09 a.m.

We just finished a whole week of VBS. I was up each morning and ready almost on time each day too, so I'm pleased with myself. Of course the promise of an afternoon nap most days helped me get up. Daughter wasn't too pleased with going back though. It was the same room she has school at, same room she has Sunday School at and the same teacher. Not that she doesn't love her teacher, but she had just gotten used to being out for 2 weeks and here I go again. I think her fear was that I was leaving her all day again. Thankfully she didn't have to take a nap there so I think that made her happy. I worked with the older kids and had a pretty good time. I liked the music class the best. Today, the last day, one of the sweet girls in our class came up to me as were were going to the closing session. She told me of all her teachers at any VBS that I was the one she liked the most and I was her favorite. I thanked her and told her she was a sweet and special girl. It made my day to have a genuine, honest remark from her like that. And to know, I was someone's favorite~! :-)
Tonight we took my parents out to eat. It was a father's day dinner and in honor of their wedding anniversary. DD did pretty well. She fed me her macaroni and ate her fries. She scoffed at her water and so we had to ask for coke for her. She played well as she waited for her food. One thing that kind of made me feel good was she was leaning on me a lot. She was between me and DH but leaned on me a lot and was more touchy and reacting with me more. I think being home with her the past few weeks has really been good for us. We have had so much more time to bond and she isn't all about being daddy's girl all the time now-not that anything is wrong with that, it just makes mommy a little jealous. We have had so much fun this week. We have had errands to run after VBS and we swam a couple of times this week. Just the two of us. She just learned the other day how to jump to me and let me catch her. She thought it was so much fun. She would count to 3 and then jump from the steps. She is also blowing bubbles and kicking. I hope she will catch onto the swimming soon. She loves the water so much. It was hard though, because she was so loud in laughing I was afraid the neighbors would be bothered. But who can resist the laughter of a child?
I am just really enjoying our time together. I can see she is trusting me more and leaning on me. She is becoming more verbal as well. Not to say we don't have melt downs and tantrums. They still happen. But being with her 24 hours a day helps in that I can help control her day and help in making sure things are put up that will make her start throwing fits. It is tiring, as I don't get a break. But the little afternoon naps are very nice.
Next week we start our first summer vacation. My mom is going with us. I think it will help as she can help entertain daughter during the trip. Daughter also does well obeying her better than she does us. She took the first drink from a straw from grandma, not us. She became more cooperative of washing her hair by grandma. Maybe grandma can do some potty training, cause nothing is happening here so far.
Oh well. Just wanted to catch up on here. Especially since I'll be gone for a week. We are almost all packed. So thankfully tomorrow it won't be all left up to me while DH works.
Happy Summer

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland