Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Yes, she is our's"

February 28, 2006~5:35 p.m.

So yesterday we took the baby for a bike ride. We have one of those carts on the back of my bike. DH finally bought a bike so now we can ride together. It was a beautiful day.
I was worn out from hardly riding long at all. It is hard work pulling extra weight! So we stopped in our driveway to get off the bikes and a few kids came running up to see baby. I love when kids are all out playing on their bikes. A sure sign of a beautiful day!
So they all say how cute she is. One girl asks if she is our's. Baby has a helmet on so you can't really tells she is Chinese. I reply that she is indeed "our's." THen she said she thought maybe we were just babysitting. I have never seen this kid before so I don't know where she came from. I again told her that yes she is our daughter. Then another girl comes up from across the street and talks about how cute she is too. She tells the inquiring girl that we "used to have another girl living with us (talking about our 4 year old foster daughter from 2 years ago) and that the girl was her bestest friend. But she had to leave to go live with her family." I didn't respond. It still makes me sad the girls that came into our lives and left. But I do know that we did the best we could for them and hopefully gave them wonderful memories. I wonder how we will explain to baby when she is older about the girls we took care of. We still have pictures. We still have memories. So many times I'll say something such as, I remember when we took K4 on the horses in the mountains or something like that. That was a part of our lives and it can't be erased. At least baby will know we loved kids enough to do what we could for others. And we got plenty of practice before she came along!
I just thought what the little girls said to use was something I need to record.
Yes, she is our's. No, we are not babysitting.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland