Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"recap of Christmas"

December 27, 2002~3:46 p.m.

I've been having fun the last two days looking for bargains in gift wrap and holiday decorations and such. I got the cute tree at Target that was 50% off. It has cute little country felt ornaments on it. I don't even know if I will use all those as I want to do a tree next year for my kitchen with it and put little cinnamon gingerbread men and candy canes and peppermints on it. I'll make it look nice next year. I was tickled pink when they still had some left yesterday afternoon. I didn't get out until late in the day so I was afraid all the good stuff would be gone. We still didn't find a prelit tree that we wanted but our regular one will do fine.

Christmas went pretty well for us. Christmas Eve my parents came over and we ate bbq beef, ribs, beans, coleslaw and bread. We also played a game of Scrabble and I ALMOST won! I couldn't believe it. I was hot that night. I only lost to Tim by a couple points so I was so happy. I usually suck at Scrabble. That will make his grandma proud!

Christmas day we slept in some and then got up to shower and get dinner ready. Dad decided to cook the ham and so I did a dish I saw in the First magazine the night before. It was called Potato Anna. It was just potatoes thinly sliced and layered in a dish with thyme, salt, pepper, melted butter and cheese between the layers. I did it with tinfoil lining the pan so when it was through I pulled it out and flipped it over and it had a pretty browned bottow with the potato pattern that was in spirals. It was pretty. But I think I'll skip the thyme next time, it was too much. I might just do oregano or something.

After dinner we cleaned up a bit and then we sat down to open gifts with my parents and my brother. My brother was really better this year and more talkative and more social so that was good. I felt bad because I thought we had all gotten enough stuff for him but it ended up towards the end that he was through unwrapping before everyone else. I think the main thing is mom bought him about 5 pairs of pants and just threw them in a big bag with tissue paper. I mean, geesh, wrap them individually. That is what I would have done so he would have had more to open instead a bag. I would much rather wrap then bag it unless it is odd shaped.

Anyway, he did get some nice stuff and we all got way too much stuff. My mom got us some weird things. I guess she was just wrapping stuff up. But she was being real nice. Her main gift she got us was all she needed to get us and all I even wanted. A new set of pots and pans! They are so nice! I think there are about 3-4 sauce pans plus a double boiler and a steamer and a large dutch oven and a small fry pan and a large one that is real deep and can be used to gry chicken. It was so nice and I was so excited about it. I took all my old warped pots and scratched pots out and put them in a box to throw away but my brother said he wanted them to take camping so he took them.

Tim got me a nice black leather jacket and the pearl ring I wanted along with a lot of other stuff. I got Tim a brown leather jacket that looks real good on him. He has worn it every day this week. His biggest surprises were when he opened the CD I had made for him with our wedding songs on it. I had designed the front and back cover with our pictures. I also gave mom and dad one and will give one to my in laws. They were all surprised and excited to have it. Daddy said he was taking it home to listen too and he just knew he was going to cry when he listened to Butterfly Kisses. Awwww...

The other big surprise was the pictures I had made for Tim. He was surprised along with my parents. I gave them copies as well. Tim told me afterwards that if I had given him the CD and the pictures that would have been plenty. That it was all he needed. Awwww...What a sap!

So he has new pictures for his new waller and a picture of me and a picture of us (the ones with the pets) on his desk at work. I need to get one of the pictures for my work also. I'm taking the 5x7 to work. His parents are getting the other one for them. It sure was a fun day and a fun time together.

Tonight we are planning a birthday party for my youngest nephew and my brother (the nephews are his kids). Their mom is bringing them today and we are going to order pizza and have that and ice cream cake to celebrate. We will also let the boys open all their Christmas gifts. It worked out pretty good with them opening last. That way they were not all over the place while we were unwrapping. I love them but they can get wild. I bought a few more things for my brother so he would have more stuff for his birthday. He always gets slighted since he has a January birthday. He usually only gets one gift from our parents and one from us. So this year he will get more from us. I got him a Worst Case Scenario calender that I think he will love. I also got him a couple more things I can't even think of now. I feel sorry for December and January birthday people. Glad mine is in August!

After our party, we need to start packing as we will be leaving tomorrow after Tim gets off work for his parents' house. His BIL and his wife and 4 kids have been there since Christmas day. They are leaving on Sunday. I'm kind of glad we will not be there at the same time long. With 4 kids in the house and their dog it will be hectic. We are taking Scooter too but I'm going to keep him in his cage for a while so the other dog won't mess with him. Or vice versa. Tim's mom talked to him a few hours after they had arrived and said "Was my house clean???" In just a couple hours time the house had been trashed from the kids and from going in and out of the house. Geesh. Glad it isn't my house! They did come here last year but they were pretty tame. That was one less baby ago also.

We have also decided that we are going to open gift from each other together next year, not in front of my parents and brother. It looks like we have so many presents when we did it this year. Tim says he only wants us to open up what we got from the others whil they are here and do ours privately. I think that will be a good idea. I hope we do that at his parents house because we only got about one thing a piece for his BIL and family since there were 6 people to buy for. I always try to buy individual gifts and last year we both got one gift combined from them so it is kind of uneven when I am goign broke buying for 4 kids I rarely see and am never thanked for gifts for. That is the main reason. Whenever I send gifts they are never acknowledged or thanked for. I sent a baby gift for the newest addition and I have yet to hear if they received it, liked it, hated it, whatever. My MIL says the same thing, that she hates to send stuff because they never acknowledge it. So I think I'm going to tackfully ask if they received the babies gift and just say I was wondering since I never heard from them, I hoped it made it.

Anyway, we will be there until the first of the year and we have to leave at dark early that morning so Tim can be at work. We will also go to his good friend's house that is like family on New Year's Eve. They are having their family celebration then and we will go deliver gifts to them as well. It will be a fun time of being able to spend almost 4 days there with no agenda, just visiting. Tim does have golf planned for Monday. I thinkist I will hit the shopping mall or take a long nap!

Happy Holidays to all! Hope you all had great quality time with family!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland