Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"baby shower, school, walking"

May 20, 2002~10:48 p.m.

The baby shower went really well. I was afraid I would not be finished in time with errands but it was great. I forgot about a corsage. I asked Laurie to call. She called one place and it was going to be 16 dollars! I told her to call back and cancel. She finally did and called a small place downtown and they said it would be about 5 bucks. So we did that. She went to pick it up after school and it was so cute. A white carnation with a blue ribbon and two tiny baby bottles tucked in the flower...for $3.50! Wow! I will go there from now on to get corsages.

I also went by after school to get mylar balloons from the dollar discount store and a card. I then stopped by Winn DIxie to get a plant for the table to replace my dying tulips and a big bag of ice. I made it home in time to tie the ballons to the stop signs leading to our neighborhood and also to get home as Laurie was driving up.

We got everything laid out and set up and had time to spare. I had most everything ready anyway, just needed to heat things up and stuff. Our menu consisted of:

cheese ball and crackers, spinach dip in a bread bowl with crackers and bread and chips, cocktail weiners in sauce, bbq pork with small rolls to make sandwiches, brownies and lemon squares. And nuts and petite mints. I had soda, tea and water to drink. Karen came a little early with her MIL and we chatted and then some of her family arrives. Then a bunch came from school. I was impressed at those that did come. But disappointed that so many did NOT come to support her. Oh well. We had plenty of people and it was fun. We had about 19-20 total. She got a lot of nice stuff including a baby swing and the truck toy box and train bookends for the room. She has a 2 year old girl and this is going to be a boy so she needed boy stuff. She got lots of cute boy clothes. The towels I got her she said was perfect to go with his stuff and Laurie's cute denim overalls and top were well received by all.

Tim came home about the time that everyone had left except my para pro and the other para and the hearing imparied teacher and Karen and her MIL and of course Laurie were there. After everyone left Laurie and I cleaned up and then mom called me to talk to me about the beach trip.

What has happened is mom has invited me to go with her and another girl to Mexico beach this weekend through Monday. I was kind of dreading it because I felt like I had to do this for my mom to not make me guilty and she is always so moody. So anyway, my mom and her friend are going down on Friday after work and I have to work on Saturday for the last day of post planning. I am hoping to get off at lunch if the principal will let us. So I was dreading it, driving on my own and all. So mom asked tonight if Laurie wanted to go. She piped up and said Yes! So she is all excited. She said she had no plans so this is great. So I'm excited to know I have her to go with me and to drive with me. We are planning to go shoping to get some beach shoes and other stuff for the trip. We are staying at a condo there on the beach. Way cool.

So that was good news....

Tomorrow I am planning a picnic at eh park for my kids. Tim is off and he is coming to grill hotdogs and hamburgers and stuff for us. I have planned on us being there until 1:00 pm so we can just play. After they eat I want them to run and play and get all their energy out. School is almost out. It is time to relax and celebrate!

Tim and I walked tonight after the party to go take the balloons down. We wet a different way and ended up walking at least 50 minutes. It had to be over 2 miles. I was tired but excited I did it. I'm bushed though. Gotta get to bed...

3 more school days!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland