Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"weekend and all that stuff"

May 19, 2002~10:07 p.m.

What an awesome rain we had last night. We have needed it and it rained probably 3-4 inches all night. It is so cold today now. Going from close to 100 degrees and then it was 57 when we elft church at noon. Brrrr! They say tonight will be record lows in the 50s. Brrr..

We have had a pretty good weekend. Saturday I spent all morning cleaning. I cleaned my bathroom floors and the bathrooms. I cleaned the kitchen and hardwood floors in the dining room and foyer. Then I got out the touch up paint and painted all those places I wanted to fix where we have gotten scratches and stuff.

I then went shopping for this baby shower I'm giving on Monday. I couldn't find what I wanted to get that wasn't going to be so expensive so I bought this adorable towel set from TJ Maxx. I spent 2 hours in there! The towel set has sailboats applicaid (sp) on them. I also bought a new towel set for the guest room, a new hand towel for by the sink, a soap holder, and two CUTE hand towels with lady bugs on them that I HAD to have that I put in a wicker basket on the toilet tank. I think the bathroom looks cute. It is not bright with bold colors but it is bright with cleanness. Oh and I got a new white rug for in there. I have wanted to get new stuff for that room and now was as good as time as any.

This evening we had Awana night celebration. All the kids got their awards. I was so proud of them Almost ALL of our 2nd grade class received plaques for completing ALL books. It was great. M. received two ribbons and a plaque. Her dad was there and I know it was awkward for P for him to be there, but I told P that he is there father and he needs to be included in their lives. He left after she got awards and he took her outside to talk to her and when she came back her face was red and she started a few tears when her mom asked her if she was ok. It is tough to be a kid and watching yoru parents divorce. She can't help it if her daddy screwed around and won't change. Poor kid I felt so sorry for her.

P and I both joined the Y this weekend. We are going to go on a regular basis, hopefully. It will help us both I know.

Oh Saturday night we invited Tim's co-worker over and his wife. They have a year old and one about to pop any day now. It was nice to get to know his wife and both of them better. She is so funny and laughs a lot. We had a good dinner and then we taught them how to play chicken foot. They loved and, darn it, if they didn't beat us! they came in 1st and 2nd place! I was in shock because I was last place and I NEVER come in last place! I told them beginners luck. I will be harder on them next time! LOL I'mg lad we got to play and teach them. They want to go out and get a set of dominos now.

Tomorrow is the baby shower. I still have to cut the lemon squares and wrap the present. I hope it all goes well. We have 19 that RSVPed but a ton at school haven't said anything. People don't know what RSVP means now a days I guess. I think it will go well and the food will be good. I just hope no one asks me about babies and I get emotional. I'm going to try to keep smiling. I've been good ever since my talk with the preacher but today I got emotional. Our SS teacher was out of town so we combined with the other class that we split from. The one with kids. I was a surprise and I wasn't expecting to be in there so I guess that is what was so bad. I had to sit next to the only pg one in there. They were all talking about kids and relating everything to kids. I kept my mouth shut. I was doing so good emotionally until then. I will have to keep praying I will stay strong.

Oh, on Friday we went to the Humane Society Auction. I fought for and won the bid on a Woman of Faith Bible. I love it, except it doesn't have tabs on it. It has tons of stories in it in addition to the verses. I stood next to the paper and every time this lady adn this man kept bidding on it, I added mine because it was closing time. Right before they tore the sheet off I had mom put the amount down and I got it! We also won a cute blue dog dish from Longaberger and a gift certificate to Cracker Barrel. I think we paid $72 in all for all three. We also got a free hat, flashlight and a cute pepper plant that I put in my kitchen. It was fun.

One more week of school! 4 days of kids. 2 post planning days and then I'm headed to the beach to meet my mom.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland