Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"the rest of M's day lunch, walking, computers"

May 13, 2002~10:06 p.m.

So I wanted to finish how yesterday went. After church we had lunch prepared at my house. My dad brought squash casserole, beans and potatoes. They were all from the garden. I baked a ham, dinner rolls and put together a salad. I didn't know what to do for dessert so Saturday night I was searching recipes and through my cupboard. I found a carrot bread mix I could make and I did it in a 9X9 pan and then made a light glaze to go over the top and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over it. It turned out to be the best thing. I also had angel food cake and made strawberry shortcakes. I had some strawberries in the freezer and was going to use them but they turned out to be nasty. I don't know what happened to them. But luckily we had fresh strawberries.

For some reason on Friday I felt the notion to invite a neighbor for lunch on Sunday. She subbed for my para pro a few weeks ago and she was nice and we found out we live in the same neighborhood. She just got married in August and her husband is overseas. I wondered if she was going to be alone that day so I invited her and she accepted. So when she came she brought a bowl of fresh strawberries. Which I told her turned our perfectly since my strawberries were a flop. Everything went pretty well and she seemed to enjoy talking to our parents. My dad even went over to look at her yard to give her pointers on how to care for the grass. Afterwards as she left, Tim gave her a potted plant and told her that in our house on mother's day we celebrate not just mothers but all women. She started to cry. I didn't know she would get so emotional. But after that I was so glad we invited her. I hope we can meet her husband when he comes back. I also would like for her and I and my next door neighbor together once in a while.

Oh and before everyone came over, Tim and his dad gave me and his mom our presents. I had thought they were shopping for Tim's mom and I kept offering to wrap the gifts for my FIL. Now I know why he wouldn't let me, they had stuff for me too. They both bought us cologne. They finally came out with that Tommy Girl Summer Cologne and Tim bought that for me along with a display plate with an apple on it. He bought a plate rack also to hang three plates on. There was also some little things that my FIL went to get Saturday to fill our bags up like a lotion dispenser, mints, umbrella, stuff like that. And it was all in a cute straw bag that we can tote to the beach or carry stuff in. Mine is yellow and natural striped while MIL's is blue striped. We were both excited and surprised! I gave my mom her gifts later. Tim didn't want my mom to see us opening ours because they were different from hers and with the way her hormones have been, she would have been upset.

So we all had a pretty good day with our parents. My sweet FIL mounted our kitchen TV under the cabinets like I've wanted to do since Christmas. So it gets it up off the counter. I am so glad I enjoy my in laws.

On Friday my MIL and I were alone in the living room and she asked me some stuff about my dr appt last week. It was the most we had ever talked about that much personal stuff before. I was surprised that I opened up so much to her. It was nice to tell her what we are going through.

~*~*~*~*~

This morning I got up and walked 1.25 miles. This evening Tim "pressured" me into walking again and we did another 1.25 miles. So that is pretty good. 2.5 in a day. Tim has tomorrow off and said he would go walking with me in the AM. We will see if he wakes up.

I have InTech tomorrow. The last session. Waaahoooo! I'm glad it is almost over. Our group has to make a power point presentation tomorrow. We had to take pictures today of us and kids and then a group photo. We need to think of a theme. One teacher mentioned Fear Factor. It would be cute but if we had thought of it earlier, we could have dressed in certain clothes to do our pictures and taken posed shots that would work. Oh well. As long as we do it it will be ok and we will pass and get out 5 SDU credits and Roy Barnes will be happy.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland