Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"Friday Five"

February 15, 2002~6:59 p.m.

1. What was the first thing you ever cooked?

I can't remember. I have cooked most of my life, because my parents like to teach me. I can remember growing up that my brother and I fixed a lot of hot dogs, frozen pizzas, mac and cheese and pot pies. We loved going to the store and finding them on sale. I remember pot pies and mac and cheese on sale for 5/$1.00. We lived on all that in the summer time.

2. What's your signature dish?

I'm not sure. Tim loves a lot of mine, but I do get compliments on my homemade chicken pot pie ( Better than those 20 cent ones from childhood!), spaghetti sauce, chili, and chicken parmesan. I have request for my layer salad at pot lucks too. But out of all this I guess my pot pie...

3. Ever had a cooking disaster? (tasted like crap, didn't work, etc.) Describe.

Uhh, the worst thing was a I made one of those all in one dishes for Tim and I and the flavoring was awful! We could not eat it and had to throw it away. I've also tried to make chicken and dumplings and the dumplings are too tough. My mom knows "just" how to roll the dough out.

I almost forgot...The worst thing that happened was that I was goign to fry bacon and turned the heat up to get it hot and put the bacon in and went to watch tv. The next thing I knew, there was a red blaze in the kitchen! I screamed and my cousin, Chris, who was living with us, came down and put the fire out. We treid to clean everything up so my mom wouldn't know but the maid found sute on top of the spice cans and told her. That snitch!

4. If skill and money were no object, what would make for your dream meal?

This is a hard on, cause if money is no object, I'd rather go out and have it cooked for me! But if it was something I could cook, I would love to be able to cook a big pot of chicken and dumplings or to be able to make my mom's dressing recipe to go with turkey. Otherwise, I can usually make any recipe turn out good. I would say I'm a pretty good cook. Obviously, since I'm trying to lose weight now! LOL

5. What are you doing this weekend?

I think Tim and I are going out tonight. I guess we will cook the steaks tomorrow. He doesn't feel like staying home tonight and cooking. I will spend tomorrow cleaning house and such. I have Monday off from school (YIPEE!) so I will chill then and sleep late and maybe do some shopping. I need some clothes and some black shoes real bad! Sunday is church, lunch, nap, awana-the usual!

Have a good weekend everyone... Happy Valentine's Day!

Oh, and for the record.... We had the florist refund our money. Pam didn't get he flowers I sent her either so we got refunded on all that. They are supposed to send a check...

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland