Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"putting it together"

December 23, 2006~11:14 a.m.

I did some major baking this week. I baked three different types of bars and 3 different types of cookies. One set of bars didn't turn out right. The cream cheese mixture was too soft and so it won't cut into bars nicely. So they are in the fridge for us to snack on with a fork, since you can't pick it up.
I think my favorite thing I made though as the peanut butter cookies with the Hershey's kiss in the middle. Gosh they are so good! I was stingy on putting them in the gift plates. I saved some for us!
Today is the last day of work/stores being open for the Christmas holiday season. We don't have any last minute stuff to get, thank goodness. We have a bday party to go to this afternoon. So we are getting ready for that. Tomorrow morning at dark early, we will get up and drive to the in laws and celebrate with them. All the kids and grandkids are supposed to be there. We will come home that night. I just want my baby to wake up in her own home on Christmas morning if at all possible. Plus, 12 people and 2 bathrooms just don't cut it!
Last night we did the parent thing right before Christmas....we put together all our daughter's big items. We got her a kitchen set and I put that together. You would think it would be easy. There were a few places that it was hard to get together, but it is togther now and really cute. I am hoping she will like it and that it will take a lot of her time while I'm busy cooking or something. I'm planning to put it in the kitchen to the side sometimes so she can cook while I do.
My mom and dad bought her a table and chairs set, so DH put that together last night. It is so cute! It has polka dots on the top and little cusions on the chair. The only thing that upset me was that there is a long black streak along the wood. It was almost like something rubbed up against it and marked it up. The finish is kind of powdery in a way so I'm sure it will mark up easily. I'm going to call them next week after they reopen and ask for a replacement top that is not marked up. Then I'm going to paint on or spray on some shellac or veneer or whatever to seal the paint. I want it to be smooth and easy to wash off. It is just too cute, but not great at the paint finish.
I'm glad we didn't wait until Christmas eve to put it all together. It is just too much fun to be putting this stuff together for OUR daughter. I never would have thought it would be real. What was funny is that while we were putting it together, she would not go to sleep in her bed. I could hear her in there every once in a while giggling. I told DH that she must have known what we were doing and was giggling because she knew she was getting something good!
Ah, it will be so much fun watching her on Christmas morning.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland