Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"moving right along"

December 17, 2006~11:57 p.m.

So far, we almost have all our paperwork finished for our adoption. I can't believe I collected it that fast. Our social worker is coming this week to finish up our h0mestudy. Then hopefully it will be sent off very soon. We are kind of having to rush on this now as there have been new rules imposed for couples ad0pting from Chin@. We don't have to worry about all of them except one. Because of this rule, we need to get all our papers into our agency by the middle of April. It won't be us that has to work fast, it will be waiting on our state department to give us the OK. Once they receive our h0mestudy, they have to give us approval to ad0pt. I've been hearing it might take up to 15 weeks to get this back. We need it a lot sooner than that. Now I've prayed and I have peace that God is going to take care of this. I have a peace that the office is going to speed up and we will get it in plenty of time to not have to do any kind of expediting of the documents. I just know it has to happen.
Otherwise, I think we did pretty good at getting all our papers, physicals, etc done in really a month's time. I guess the second time around is so much faster since we have done it before.
Now onto finishing wrapping gifts. I waited until this weekend to start simply because I haven't had time and our daughter might decide it is fun to unwrap them, so I keep them in the guest room. I think I'm almost finished though. Which feels good to get it done. We scaled down a lot this year as we are trying to save money, but I did keep adding to our daughter's pile. I didn't realize it was adding up until I started wrapping. I went shopping Saturday with her to finish up my list for others and found a few more things that were cool and would be great for her developmentally. So I got those. Probably shouldn't have but I think she will love them. A lot of things are little to put in her stocking, so those kind of don't count.
We did get her a kitchen set and I'll have to put that together this week while I'm off. I'm off for 2 1/2 weeks-Yipee! I have that kitchen set to keep me busy and my parents bought her a wooden table and chair set. I saw it online and it is so cute. It has a polka dot table top and little cushioned chairs! I can't wait to see it put together. Which of course I'll do. I'm the putter together in the family.
I have a vet appt this week for the cat, a hair appt for me (gotta get the roots covered), a party at daughter's school, and a lunch date with a friend and my mom.
My friend and I decided that instead of spending money on each other for gifts, we would spend TIME with each other. So we decided that the week before Christmas, when we were both off work, we would meet for lunch, pay for our own lunch but give each other the TIME for a gift. Time of friendship. I think that will be so much better and so less stressful for us to figure out what to get each other. I'm looking forward to it. My mom is off this week too so she is coming and we can discuss our beach trip next year together.
I'm going to enjoy not hearing the alarm in the morning!!!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland