Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"amazing night"

November 08, 2003~10:38 p.m.

The word to describe what I saw tonight was...Amazing!

Tonight I went to the serenade at the Kairos tonight. I really did not know what to expect. I knew we would be hidden from the prisoner's view and then they would turn around to see us singing. It was even more than I imagined!

We had to wait a long time until the right time to make our appearance. We had to check in our driver's license and keys before we were taken beyond the gates. I've never been on the state prison gates before. This was my first time!

We had to wait a long time before we were able to sneak around the gym. What was cool, was the whole time we were waiting, we were able to watch the Eclipse. If I had not been there, I wouldn't have known to watch for it.

So after the time finally came, we walked along the edge of the building and snuck up as they were outside singing. We were seperated by a fence and I had no idea we would be so close. They had their backs turned to us and were singing. These men had no idea we were even there. After they finished singing there was short silence and then our guitar player started playing and we started off singing softly. I believe the guys probably didn't hear it at first or didn't realize it was someone else besides them that was there....Then all of a sudden one turns his head and then another guy turns his head and then they all start turning slowly and seeing us and you should have seen them! They start slowly walking towards us, I guess because they weren't sure what was going on, they were in surprise and they weren't sure if they could come close or not. I didn't know they were going to come so close but we were so close you could see their faces and we were only seperated by a fence. One gentleman in prison dress walked up to the center before us and just fell to his knees and bent down towards the earth and started sobbing. Another joined him on the ground. Just bowing down before us crying and praying their hearts out. I started crying at that moment and couldn't continue singing. I never knew I would experience that. I never expected it. There were chills coming through my body and I felt Jesus right there on that Holy Ground as we sang those words. I tried to take time to look at the prisoners in their faces, to see their eyes, to show a smile on my face as I sang. Some of these men haven't seen this many outsiders in years. The first gentleman struck us all as we could tell how much he was on fire for Jesus. When he finally stood upright, he was so full of joy he was jumping up and down slightly just full of Jesus.

After we sang they explained that we didn't know them, nor did they know us, but we were there to spread love and show the Love of Jesus to them. The prisoner spoke up and just thanked us so much for being there and being the face of Jesus to them there. I never thought I would cry that night but I did more than ever. It was the most amazing night ever!

Tomorrow we go back for the closing and we actually are in the building with them. It is just wonderful to be a part of this!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland