Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"upbeat moment"

September 17, 2003~7:27 p.m.

Sometimes it is the little things that make my job meaningful. This afternoon while h/s this one boy, I gave him his work that his teacher sent. When he saw the SS book, he said "unh ah. I don't do SS!" He said he went to another class during ss and he didn't do it. I said, "well this is what your teacher sent so she must mean for you to do it." I told him I would read it and he could answer the questions. It was fairly easy as it was just really answering right along with what you read. So as I started reading, he has tears in his eyes! I ignored that and knew if I kept on he would be ok. After question two, he sat up and got more into writing and stopped crying. We started talking about the info in the story and he was really into it and asking questions. By the time we were through (over 45 minutes later!) he could re tell what he had read and tell all about Eskimos and Indians. I told him to re-tell it to his aunt so she can know what he read. I high fived him and he was so excited that he did well and knew the work when we finished. He has such a bad attitude about school that I'm glad he opened up finally and was smiling in the end. I told him I was going to bring him a big bag of okra tomorrow since he said he liked them for his aunt to cook him. I told him about my garden and how my okra was growing so fast. He seemed excited. It made it finally worth while to see him excited about things.

I also told him if I heard he didn't scream and hollar at his dr's appointment next week and his attitude about school work stayed upbeat, I'd bring him a mcflurry. I know I probably shouldn't do that, but this is a kid that probably never gets rewarded for school work and I want him to realize that when he is good, he will get rewarded. That I want him to be happy to do school work. So yeah, I'm bribing him, but I doubt he needed it. After today he had a different attitude that he COULD do the work!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland