Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"getting hard to manage"

June 02, 2004~9:52 p.m.

I"m not liking single parenting at all! I have so much more respect and awe at how some of my friends handle it when their hubbies are away working for long periods of time or just not there to support them. Having DH gone has been hard. Not only do I miss him, but having to handle everything at home gets rough. I haven't been able to get either girl to sleep at night without tears. Especially Little One. She screams and screams. She wants me in there so bad with her. But I stay and rub her back and read books and we listen to classical music and she still is jumpy and won't lay still. I don't know why she is getting so fidgetty lately. I wait and wait and she just will not let her body relax to go to sleep. I think she is afraid I will not stay in there. Well after she doesn't relax for a while, I finally tell her "nite-nite" and that is when the screaming starts. I mean loud, mouth drooling, eyes watering screams. She came out tonight and jumped on the sofa. I had gotten the baby back up since she was still fussy and we sat on the sofa a while watching tv. She tells me every night she wants to watch "TB" Now if she would just sit still and stay on the sofa it would be ok. BUt she doesn't lay down and put a blankie on and relax, she jumps and bumps into me and the baby and jumps on the floor and back up again and just will not relax. I don't know why she is getting so fidgetty at night. I guess I need to take her outside and get her good and tired. Only thing is we have had rain all week and there really isn't a good time to go outside to play. So we just struggle with this sleep issue. Once she gets in there and cried a minute or less, she falls asleep. SHe sleeps all night also. I just wish I could make it a happy experience. I'm trying everything we did before that worked. She just got spoiled on vacation with me and a tv in her room. And with DH being gone, things are different.

Baby hasn't been too bad. She just doesn't want to go to bed at night when I know she is tired. But she went to sleep ok tonight for the second try. She has been battling a runny nose and mattered up eyes lately. I guess it might be making sleep hard. Last night slept well until about 2 am and then she pulled the bumper pad down and peeked at me and smiled as if to say "Got you- you're up! I want to get up too!" So I fed her and we played a little and she practiced trying to crawl on the bed. Then she slept until 8 am when Little ONe came in to wake me up. It was nice for them to both sleep that late. Only thing is it was the one day I needed to be up and ready. THe cleaning lady was coming at 9 am and I wanted to be dressed and take the kids to daycare before that. Ended up that we were leaving just as she came up so good timing.

Having this cleaning lady has been a blessing to this household. She finished everything today that she didn't get a chance to the last two times. It is sad when it took her this long to get our house clean. I have been so laxed on dusting and deep cleaning floors, baseboards and windows. It was so wonderful to walk in the house and it be spotless and smell so clean! I can't wait to sink into my new, clean sheets tonight! I did stay up last night late cleaning before she came. Yeah, I know why? Well she doesn't do dishes or laundry so I was doing that plus cleaning and straightening up papers and such so all she had to do was the basics like the floors, beds, windows, baseboards, dusting, etc. She was able to finish everything today so that was good. I gave her a tip. One thing I'm going to have to ask her to do is dust the lightbulbs in the bathroom. They are exposed bulbs like in a dressing room and I noticed they are dusty. Or I could just get my butt up there to do it myself. Also she hasn't dusted any of the plantation blinds and I would like to mention that. Otherwise she is great! My stove was even clean along with the microwave and she cleaned the inside of the fridge! It makes me feel good knowing it is taken care of and I can spend time with the kids and other household stuff. It is well worth it.

4 more days until hubby gets home!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland