Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"back from the trip."

May 31, 2004~11:22 p.m.

First off, my DH made it to Nicaruagua safely. That is first thing I did when I got home tonight, checked the email to see if he wrote. He was able to get to internet access somehow last night and emailed to say he was there and they were headed north tomorrow. He is excited to see what God has in store for him there.

It is so weird to be home and him not here. I keep expecting him to walk in any minute from work. But he won't. I have to wait 6 more days for that. I hope I can last! I already had to deal with two sreaming babies tonight when we got home and I was by myself.

So, about the trip. I survived....

Ended up my nephew was going after all. I found this out on my way to work Friday morning, after I had loaded my car down the night before and taken the third seat out. So I stressed for a minute and then went about finishing my last post planning day.

After lunch we were able to leave so I high tailed it out of there. I, single-handedly, took everything back out of the car and hauled the third seat back into the car, not without scratching the garage concrete floor and scratching the bumper while heaving it up. I was pretty stupid, but I got it in. Next time I get a car, I'm going to make sure it has automatic seats that go down in the floor board.

So I repack everything. Note that it is 90+ degrees and full humidity. At least I'm in the garage out of the heat. I cool off inside while waiting for my parents. We decide we will have to take two cars, despite the price of gasoline since there is no way we are fitting 3 adults, a teenager, two babies in car seats, the accompanying luggage and beach necessities in my Expedition. Mom and Dad drive her car while my nephew drives with me. He was good the first part but towards the last hour or so he got on my nerves. He begged me to let him stop and pee when we were only 30 minutes from the realty agency. I finally stop and he runs in the woods to pee. Dad had been calling to say he needed a smoke break. I made them both hold it out as long as I could. We finally get to our condo and it is marvelous! It is the best place we have stayed in. It is nicely decorated inside. I couldn't have asked for a better decorated place, nor any mor ammenities. The owner really made it like home and didn't spare anything. Nice tv's and dvd/vcr's.

The bedrooms were upstairs so I set up the bedroom for the girls and I. Baby didn't mind the pack and play as much this time. She slept pretty well. I made sure to bring up a bottle of water and her formula powder pre-measured each night so I could be ready to feed her without going downstairs to get it and waking everyone. Little One slept well since she was in my room. She liked having me close by. There were twin beds and she adored knowing I was there. I had a horrific time getting her to bed tonight at home in her room. First she moved the baby doll on her bed and patted the pillow to show me that was my space. I had to tell her I had to go to my room but I would be there in the morning. She didn't like that idea. But I can't get her used to it.

Back to the beach...We drove tot he club house and traipsed to the beach Saturday. We were so crazy. We needed a cart to carry everything but didn't have one. It was just my mom and I as my dad has had skin cancer cut off his nose and can't be around that sun. Nephew was playing with kids next door he met that included a cute pre-teen girl that warrented his attention. Mom and I huffed and puffed to the beach. We took the necessary pictures of the kids on the beach, had them all get wet in the gulf and let them get sand on them. Little One like diggig in the sand and dumping said sand on our beach towel.

We ended up going up to the pool and swimming the rest of the time. It was much better.

Sunday we did the pool again. We realized we could have stayed at my house and turned the phones off the hook and had the same vacation and saved money. Our pool is even better and being at home we have the ammenities we are accustamed to. Oh well, dad enjoyed his weekend away to relax. Even if we did nothing at all, at least we were able to relax some.

Saturday night we took dad to a seafood place for his birthday. He is 70 years old. Hard to believe that. When we got home I had baked a cake that morning while everyone was sleeping so we lit the candles and had him blow them out while making a wish. He seemed to like the presents I got him. Although his belt is too small. I will have to exchange it.

By today I was getting ready to come home. Dad's smoking was seeping in the patio door, Nephew was running in and out chaning clothes all day in an attempt to be cool for the kids next door and the cute preteen chick. he also made himself scarce whiel we were packing to go home. We finally found him to help a little.

We sent Dad and him off in mom's car while us girls headed back together today. We stopped in Tally on the way home to shop. I finally bought the vanity seat I have wanted for 2 years that no one buys for me for Christmas or birthdays. I also splurged and bought sheets that ran me $100. I can't believe I did that. I never buy sheet sthat expensive, although I really have wanted them. I hope they are nice. I will have them on the bed for hubby when he gets home.

The dog/cat sitter did fine. She played with the kids when I got home and that helped me get some stuff out of the car. Little One liked playing with her. She is young and energetic. Unfortunately she is moving in a month to transfer schools. We will have to find another house sitter.

Oh and I didn't get sunburnt too badly. I did get majorly burnt on my scalp. Pretty sad when sun burns me through my thin hair. It hurts to brush it. I did get some pink on my back and shoulders but nothing that hurts or is major. The rest is just freckles and tan. The sunscreen helped. Baby did well with no redness. Sunscreen helped and the hat. Little one did get a little pink on the back of her head. I had her hair in pigtails yesterday so I guess the sun got to her scalp through the part. I'll have to make sure she wears a hat or put sounscreen on her head.

All in all it was fun. I just hope to go back soon with DH and the kids.

Now my summer begins. Two months...

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland