Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"last day"

May 20, 2005~11:56 a.m.

Ahhh... Today is the day that all teachers long for... The last day of school. So nice. And a Friday to boot. Only thing that could make it better is for them to give us payday today. We have to wait until the 31st for that though.
IT has been quiet. All the kids are in their class. I'm cleaning and organizing. I won't have much to do during the post planning session. I never do. I get it done early.
I'm sad about testing though. All my kids have to take S ummer S chool because they didn't make at least a certain grade on this test. I think it is ludicrious to demand that children that are working at a 1st or 2nd grade level or below to pass a 5th grade test to be promoted when they cognitively can not do it. They passed all their classes when given work on their level and modifications, yet, we punish them for having a learning disability by making them spend ANOTHER month in school and take this horrid test again in a month.
I feel bad because they are MY students. And because two other teachers have come in, who are my friends, to brag about how all their's passed but a certain few and blah blah blah. Makes me depressed. I don't like hearing that. I feel bad for the children and someone uppity up in a building somewhere that made these rules. All they are doing is setting them up to fail when all their life they have known they are not as smart and need help and have failed before. So, just give them another darn test that they know they will fail again. Geesh.. They can't win.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland