Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"last lonely Mother's Day"

May 09, 2005~12:20 p.m.

Yesterday will hopefully by my last Mother's Day without my own child in my arms. Yes, last year I had two with me, but they were only here for a short time. I knew it might not last, and it didn't...
With this date coming up, most women that have not been able to give birth or have had a loss, dread it. I do as well. I dread church mostly. Our pastor has a done a wonderful job though of not focusing so much on being a birth mom, but on the role women play in the lives of children. Still, I didn't think I could handle it today. They were supposed to have baby dedication as well and I couldn't handle both in the same day.


So we planned ahead to focus instead on our mothers. Last weekend we drove up to my in laws and spent time with them. I cooked dinner Sunday for my MIL. I fixed dijon mustard marinated chicken breast, fancy green beans, pineapple casserole (YUM!), salad, crescent rolls and homemade apple pie with ice cream. It was so yummy. We all ate in their sun room and enjoyed the outdoors.
Sunday, we invited my mom, dad, brother and his girlfriend over for dinner. I fixed the same menu except I added homemade mashed potatoes with garlic and onion seasoning. Oh man it was sooo good. Tim did the grilling of the chicken and did an awesome job. We were able to focus on our mothers, who gave us life and helped us become the people we are today.
I did go take care of my sunday school class of infants this morning, but we left after sunday school. I was fretting over not having a floral arrangement for the dining room table. Dad didn't have any flowers in his yard, so I figured I would put a silk arrangement or cut some in our yard if there were any.
We get home and there on the dining room table is a pretty rose bouquet from Tim! I told him I was glad I didn't buy any! They were so pretty and perfect for the table. He also had a card for me. As I opened it, the first thing I notice is a tiny ladybug in the front of the card. I asked if he got the card for that reason. He said he really did not notice it at all. I looked all over and nothing else on the card related to ladybugs. The card had flowers on it and a velum overlay. The writing was on the velum and the ladybug was printed right in the center of the velum. it was the only picture printed on the velum. I think God had Tim get that card! The wording and everything must have been made by someone who knows about adopting from China.
To make the surprises even better, Tim went in the backyard and wheeled my present out! It is a new, black wrought iron lounge chair. His store sales them and he knew I had been looking for a lounge chair for laying out in the summer. I didn't even know they had them. We have the matching table, chairs and rockers in the back yard so it goes perfectly! I laid down on it and it is perfect! It has adjustable back so I can lay flat or at different angles. It has wheels so I can move it around the pool deck. I am going to enjoy it soooo much! It should last a lifetime. I love it. I can't wait to sit on it while watching Katie play in the back yard.
The only thing that could make my day any better is if Katie was here. But she will be in a few short months and I'll never let her go!
My brother and his gf looked at the nursery. I heard him say "that is going to be one spoiled rotten girl." I prefer to say she will be spoiled with love!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland