Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"finally able to"

May 06, 2004~12:03 p.m.

We are having the girls dedicated in church on Mother's Day. I am happy that the preacher agreed to this and I believe that these two little girls need the prayer and blessings over them more than probably most of the others knowing that they may not have the opportunities in life that the other children may have. This has been a hard spot for me in that in January they announced all the 2003 babies and did a baby parade in front of the church. The children's cooridinator felt that it wasn't the time to do Baby as she was a foster child and said perhaps we can do something later for her if things become more permenant. It crushed my heart when I was told that. I never let her know how much it hurt me.

This was/might be the only time I would ever have a newborn in my home. For that moment in time I was a mother and I felt that our baby should be recognized just as the others would. I was upset dropping her off in nursery as I saw the other parents lining up with their babies to take into church. And the whole time they announced them in church I cried as I envisioned our baby sitting in nursery by herself without the other kids. Was she not as precious and recognizable? She didn't ask to be born into what she was born into. I guess I was not strong enough to say anything at that point but it really hurt me to be shunned once again because I was not the "natural mother" to this baby and I was not able to present her.

I had DH talk to the preacher this time first and he whole heartedly agreed that it was a wonderful idea and we are going to dedicate both girls this Sunday, on a very important day, Mother's day. And even more special is the fact that Little One's birthday is that day.

I had to give the names and birthdates to the coordinator last night at church and she still seemed a little hesitant. She said it was great and all but in the way she asked me "how are we going to do this?" I still felt she was uneasy. I told her to announce them without using last names and say they are the foster daughters of DH&Me. DH feels it would be a good witness as well to others that may have wanted to go into foster care or adoption.

I just kind of wanted to get this off my chest and praise God for what He has done by bringing these girls into our lives, even if for a short time. And for the influence we will be able to have on them that perhaps will be a seed planted for sowing later in life.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland