Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"and it shows"

April 24, 2004~9:39 p.m.

We have weekend guests. The in-laws are here. The kids love it. Especially Little One. She loves the attention. I'm fine with it, but frankly it puts a lot of work on me. Deciding what to cook, having to buy said food, keeping the house clean and picking up after two more people, and not being able to nap and watch tv like I'm used to.

Now on a normal Saturday, I would take advantage of the kids' taking their naps. I would kick back in our snuggler recliner and cover up with my down throw, turn the tv on and snooze until one of the babies wakes up. Those are times I relish on Saturdays.

See my DH gets Tuesdays off. I go to work, the kids go to day care and Dh can do whatever he wants. Granted he does a lot of work, he will mow, weed eat, do yardwork, and he will sometimes clean the house or do some laundry. But in between all this or after he drops the kids off at school, he can go back to bed if he wants. He can lay around in his underwear eating, drinking, and watching tv while he sleeps off and on if he wants to.

But on my day off, it is Saturday and he is at work and daycare is not an option. So mommy doesn't get a day to kick back in her underwear and sleep in. Not at all. Not one day a week. So those few times I can get the babies to take naps at the same time, I relish that time. Not as carefree as it could be as a little one can start crying any minute, but still sweet none the less.

But today, I did get both children to nap, easily. But I had to use that time to go the grocery store to pick up dinner fixings and other things we needed. I was gone over an hour. The kids slept the whole time I was gone. While grandma and grandpa snoozed on my sofa with MY down throw! They took my nap! They deserve it, but I wanted one too! So not soon after I got home, Little one was awake. While I prepared dinner for tonight, she watched me cook. Then when I could have sat down to rest, baby wakes up. All the while, Gma and Gpa are watching sports and travel channels with their eyes glued to it and their butts glued to the sofa. So I feed baby, give her some banana food. I haven't had a rest yet. This is the only time I rest, I retreat to this room while DH entertains and I get some quiet time to myself. I'm so tired.

We had another class this morning. It is the last one we need for our f.c. certification. The paperwork said it started at 9 am so we got there at that time and the instructor was rude to us when we came in. The whole class she was rude and made fun of us. She would say "I see K. giving me the evil eye over there so let's move on." She was so rude and it pissed me off. I 'm going to write or call the Am. Red Cros.s to complain about her. She said the class was supposed to start at 8 am and I guess that is why she was mad. But I'm sorry, that gives you no reason to be pissed at us. We finished the material an hour early and that was even with here repeating her self all the time.

I'm bushed. I need to retreat to bed. And just for the record, I love my in laws. But I am tired and it shows.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland