Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"check ups"

April 13, 2004~8:39 p.m.

Baby had her 4 month check up today. She did pretty well until it came to checking her ears. The doctor had to clean out some wax to look in her right ear and she scream blue bloody murder when she did. It seems she has another ear infection in that ear. The doctor prescribed amoxici!len for her. She thinks that is the reason she couldn't sleep Sunday night, not teething. She also said to give her just OTC cold medicine for the congestion.

Statistics are:

weight: 14.6 pounds

height: 23.5 inches long

head circumference: 16.25 inches

She gained 3.4 pounds, is 1.5 inches taller and her head grew .75 inches in circumference. I plotted her stats on her graph I have at home and it shows her weigh in the 75%ile, height in the 25%ile, head cir. in the 50%ile, and her weight for length %ile is almost 95%. The first, young nurse that weighed her came back with a 13.3 ounces. I knew that was wrong. The nurse that gave her the shots agreed and re-weighed her. The 14.6 sounded much more reliable. So those other measurements might not be accurate as well as the young one did it also.

Baby has been given the go-ahead to eat cereal and baby food. I tried rice cereal on her last week and she still has that tongue thrust reaction going. She was not fond of it. I will try her again this week. I bought some baby food for her this morning. She was so good after the visit that we went to Wally wor!d to get more formula and baby food. She smiled halfway through the store and then fell asleep. I wish she had done that at the doctor's office. She wouldn't stop screaming after her shots. Poor baby.

So now we have to go look for a high chair so we can start feeding her baby food. DH asked me about that today and if we needed one. We plan to have a garage sale this weekend to sell off the old bedroom furniture from Little One's room, old rockers, bikes, and tons of misc. stuff. So I'll use some of that money to go get a high chair. Not like we don't have the money, but it is kind of like you want a goal from the garage sale to make a certian amount to buy something specific. We really just want to get rid of this junk piled around. Dh also wants a riding lawn mower so we need more room in the garage for that to sit. I really wish we had nice shelves and cabinets in the garage to store things. But if we sale a bunch of this stuff, most of the rest can go in the attic or the storage closet. And I can get my car back in there. I have had to park it outside all week and I hate that. Especially since it is going to be in the 30's tonight! What is up with this weather?

On my cold, it is slowly getting better. I sounded awful today. I could barely talk. This congestion is all in my chest and throat. I woke up last night and made some hot tea. I never drink hot tea. But it helped a little. I finally bought some med. with an expectorant today and that has helped get rid of some of it. Hopefully I will be better by the end of the week.

Oh, I also made an appt. for Little One in two weeks for her check up and shots. She is about a year behind in her shots because her mom never took her past her 6 month shots. She is 23 months now. Her 6 months shots were actually given to her when she was a year old. Why do people not take their children on a regular basis for shots and check ups? Especially when it is free?

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland