Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"quiet night"

February 27, 2004~11:47 p.m.

Our first night went ok. My mom is over here a lot. She has been so helpful. This new little girl we got is so different than Sister. Since she is younger, she is not as independent and I can see I have to start baby proofing things more than I had. She shows a lot more behavior problems such as screaming out, trying to slap at me, kicking the cat and pulling her tail, she said a cuss word at day care today, etc. We are trying to replace all those behaviors with good ones.

Poor little thing has really been neglected. She was filthy for one thing and had the most awful diaper rash. Her little hinny and front area were so red and covered in red bumps. I'm slathering her in diaper rash cream each time I change her and it is helping. I kind of didn't think about it but now we have TWO in diapers. I had to send DH out to Wally world last night to get diapers in her size and sippy cups and more diaper rash cream. All the clothes she came with were FILTHY. Dirt caked in so bad that after two washes they were still dirty. I was able to find one matching outifit that fit, although the shirt was a little tight. She wore that to daycare today until I can shop. Her little belly is so big but her extremeties are tiny. Mom says that shows signs of malnutrition. Poor thing. There was no food in the house last week when the first came by. The SW doubts this family can keep clean for 6 months. They are even more messed up than the other family. I just can't believe people can mistreat children like this.

She did fine at daycare. I can't thank them enough for how well they have taken care of all our kids and are so open and accepting to them all. They are so great. Mom and I want to fix up a thank you basket for them to show how grateful we are for them. They are surely a blessing from God!

Today during our class outing to the mall, we went to Se@rs and I found some outfits that were reasonable-little pant and top outfits. I bought three sets. Then this afternoon my mom and I went to a kids' warehouse sale that is a traveling show and bought some things there at great prices. I had gone the day before for stuff for baby. After I shopped there, I went to pick the kids up and Little One was in different clothes. They had a field trip to the mall and she had spilled her drink all over her. They are so great-they bought her a pair of jeans, a shirt and a jacket at the same store I had shopped that day. And the jacket was the same exact one I had bought her as well. So I'm going to take mine back and get credit for it. They refused money for it, but when I pay them next week for March's daycare fees I'm going to make sure they get it. That is one reason mom and I want to give them a nice thank you gift. What other day care would go out and buy a whole outfit for a child? We are so blessed, beyond belief.

DH has the day off and had a Deacon retreat this evening. It is overnight at a camp nearby. I'm missing him...it is so quiet here. Mom came over and had brought a walker and a booster seat for the girls. She was at Target and found them. We needed a booster seat for Little One to eat with since she is so tiny and can't reach the table. I had also talked about needing a walker or exersaucer for Baby since she is sitting up better and I need her to sit up daily instead of just lying in her bouncy seat or swing. I want to keep her head up so the back hair will grow better. I can't stand those bald spots. Her's isn't bad, but I still don't like it. She liked her walker and actually fell asleep in it while I was rocking Little One to sleep.

Mom left and I've had a quiet house all to myself. I've done some plastic canvas stuff for mom for the Emm@us stuff. I've watched TV, surfed the net and eaten popcorn. Now I am going to go to bed before I sabatoge myself and am dead tired tomorrow. I'm waiting for Baby to wake up to eat and then hopefully I'll get some sleep tonight. Little One sleeps pretty well so I hope she doesn't get up too early! DH is going to stop by on his way back to work from camp and shower and change. So I'll see him a little.

I might see if mom will go with me to the mall and we can shop a little and pick out some things for that basket of goodies. Having all these kids has helped our relationship. Although I finally had to tell her today I was 33 years old and didn't like her kissing me in public. Yuck! LOL

Goodnight!

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland