Grits & Eggs

Grits & Eggs

New

Older

E Mail

View my guestbook

"midnight trip"

January 12, 2004~9:55 a.m.

Well, I spent my first middle of the night in the ER last night. Sister started complaining of her stomach hurting after church and didn't want to eat. I thought she was just constipated.

So I let her take a bath and didn't make her eat dinner. I knew they had eaten a snack at church. She wanted to brush her hair by the fireplace so we let her. I also fixed her some cranberry juice cause she was still complaining of her tummy. Still all along I thought it was constipation and didn't think to check her temp.

I went to the bathroom with her to read a book to see if she would sit long enough to go and she just still was complaining. Then all of a sudden, the dam broke. There was throw up all over the floor, her legs, her feet, the stool her feet were on. Ugh. I'm so glad I teach special ed. because I didn't get sick from smelling and seeing this. I've seen enough teaching that this didn't gross me out.

Poor thing was just screaming and crying and just miserable. I took her temp and it was 101.4. So I had T. call the ER triage nurse and leave our number. After finally calling us back she said to bring her in because of her abdominal pain and how she was bending over. So toted the poor thing in her jammies wrapped in a blanket to the ER at 10:30. And we had a freeze warning last night so it was pretty cold.

We didn't get called back until almost 12:30. All the dr. did was take a urine specim@n and we had to wait forever for that. I'll tell you, no one is in a hurry in that place. Most of all this doctor. Afterwards, I told T. who the dr. was and he said he never is in a hurry. He remembers him from when he took E M T classes and did rounds at the hospital.

Anyway, after almost 2 hours, he told us she had a U T I and that was all. I still think she had a little bug or ate something that disagreed with her. I'm still concerned about this abdominal pain though. He gave her antibiotics and a supp. if she continues to throw up.

The only good thing about being there for so long is we used the time waiting in the room to practice writing her name and she finally got it! So now she knows how to write her first name by herself!

Today was supposed to be her first day at school doing academics at daycare. I had to call to tell them she would be out. I hope she can go tomorrow. I think her fever is all gone and she is feeling better. I figured she would sleep late today but she didn't. She got up at 8:30, the little booger. I needed her to sleep a little longer! Oh well. She is snuggled up watching cartoons on the sofa so at least she is resting.

What an interesting night. My first mommy trip to the ER. I sure hope she gets better soon.

Lilypie 5th Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Waiting to adopt Ticker

Sunshine Rewards

Yesterday ~*~ Tomorrow

~*~Did ya miss somethin'?~*~

clothes - March 13, 2009
day off - February 16, 2009
don't hurt - February 09, 2009
rain - August 23, 2008
catching up - February 16, 2008

Diaryland